The Handmade Capsule Wardrobe makes list

img_20190414_085710

In my previous post, I went through my planning process for my upcoming capsule wardrobe.

Since then I have gone through my current wardrobe and removed most of the items. I wanted to be able to really see what I was working with. I stuck to my list and I only kept the items that were handmade and fit in with the plan.

This was a great experiment to see what I was working with. I haven’t gotten rid of any of the other things yet, but I can see a trip to the charity shop in my near future.

It’s actually pretty amazing how well I have been trucking along without all that stuff. It just goes to show that you really don’t need as much as you think you do.

Anyway, now that the decks have been cleared I can get on with the fun part – making the new items.

This whole process has really revived my sew-jo. I cannot wait to get stuck in with a good session at my sewing machine. A few things to bear in mind – I am not making an entire wardrobe, just things to be added to the handmades I have already made. That said, I haven’t really done any cold weather sewing before so I am making a lot. The list also seems to be in constant flux. While a lot of the things are pretty set I am allowing a few adjustments and I am not giving myself a time limit to get this all done. What I can make I will and if I can’t get to it all that’s fine too.

Here is what my makes list looks like for my Autumn Winter Capsule Wardrobe 2019:
Bottoms
Navy rayon blend Alina Sewing and Design Co Chi Town Chinos
Dark wash Megan Nielsen Ash skinny jeans (Sew My Style July)

Navy True Bias Hudson pants

Dress
Chalk and Notch Orchid Midi dress with long sleeves (Sew My Style June)

Tops
Chambray Hey June Cheyenne Tunic
White and rust striped double cloth Cheyenne shirt
Leaf print Rayon Slub Style Arc Safari Sam shirt
Khaki rib Sew Over It Edie top with lengthened sleeves
Pink Ponte Sew House Seven Toaster #2

Leopard print Hey June Handmade Halifax Hoodie

Layers

Alina Sewing and Design Co Fulton Sweater Blazer

Sew Over It Cocoon Coat

Knits
White Chenille Paintbox Autumn Breeze
Pink wool Espace Tricot Turtle Dove
Caramel Espace Tricot Getting warmer cowl
Hand dyed Espace Tricot Getting Warmer hat

Leave a comment