Life lately: winter 2017

20170708_163815

My Jasmine is covered in buds already

Wow, the past few weeks really got away from me there. As the saying goes, when it rains it pours! Everything seemed to all happen at once. So today I thought I’d update you on the happenings in my little family. I’m just going to start typing and see what comes out, so I apologise if this turns out to be long and not make much sense.

We had a huge expo at work that we participated. So from a work perspective, I was so caught up in preparation and then the actual show that I barely came up for air. The stress levels were high let me tell you!

20170715_122843

This cheeky face is everything!

In amongst all of that, we also had visits from family, winter illnesses, some new home additions and life as usual stuff to deal with. It’s been real.

I was so stoked that we managed to see my sister and brother in law for a whirlwind visit a week or so ago. We went to a huge family shindig with R’s family and it was a lot of fun. Willow had a blast playing with all her new friend. We ate amazing food, drank a tonne of champagne and got to have a bit of a catch-up. In usual style, Carmen and Ricky were only in the country for a week as they were attending a wedding in Durban. So it was great that we managed to squeeze some time in.

20170702_130153

Sick day cuddles with these two

We also got to spend some time with A’s mom and aunt. It was also a whirlwind visit, but we had a lovely dinner and Willow got in a lot of snuggle time. We are hoping to head to A’s folks’ place for a relaxing weekend this weekend. Keep your fingers crossed for me!

On the home front, A made me the plant stand I have been harping on about for ages. It’s not quite finished yet, but it’s so close! The copper frame is all done, we just need to find a little free time to sand and stand the top. It came out better than I could have hoped! I really want to make one for the upstairs room now as well.

20170709_151940

I’ve been indulging my creative side and working on my lettering skills

We also invested in some new dining room chairs. We ordered Tolix style chairs in a metallic bronze finish and Tolix style nook stools in a colour called Chrysler Blue. They are just gorgeous. They play up the slightly industrial feeling we have in our home and really work well with our dining room table. I’m really happy with them.

I have unpacked the sewing machine a few times this winter, which I am really happy with. I have made a pair of PJ pants, a skirt, a gown for Willow and I have some great patterns for summer things that I’m amped to try out. I hope to get to the fabric store soon to pick up the materials that I need to get started. My hope is to tackle at least one, but hopefully two projects a month, each one using a different technique to help me hone my skills.

20170709_181937

Willow modelling one of the hats I made. I have no idea what the face is about…

I have also been knitting up a storm. Nothing is better on a cold weekend afternoon when the whole family is sick that snuggling up on the couch with Disney movies and a pile of knitting. I have been making so many hats! They are so quick and satisfying to whip up. And most exciting of all is that my stash busting striped jersey is almost done. I have completed the front and back panels and just need to make the sleeves.

All in all, we’ve had a good winter so far, but I am more than ready for it to be over now. We’ve had a bad run with illnesses and it seems to be everyone this season. My friend’s son was admitted to hospital for almost a week with respiratory infections. Willow has been struggling to shake an ear and sinus infection. As soon as we have it under control our GP has recommended that we see an ENT to discuss grommets as the situation is now getting out of hand. A has just been on a major case of cortisone for his sinus issues and I’m still struggling to shake mine and this annoying cough I’ve developed. I would really like all of us to be healthy again, please and thank you.

20170702_165521

On the health front, all of us have spent our fair share in bed with tea feeling sorry for ourselves

In the effort of improving our health, it dawned on me that I have been so busy trying to keep all my balls in the air that I am neglecting myself a little. Dinners have turned into quick solutions that aren’t necessarily the greatest choice with take out happening more than it should. I have also not been exercising and haven’t been sleeping well. So now that life is calming down a bit I have resolved to get back on the healthy eating band waggon.

20170707_161832

I have been knitting up a storm and loving it!

I have actually done some meal planning for the first time in over a month and have a week’s work of healthy food ideas, I have eaten breakfast for the first time in ages as well and I did a work out session that has left me stiff and sore. It feels really good! I forgot what it felt like to really challenge my body and I am determined that I will work out at least three times a week.

So that is my long rambly update. If you stuck around you deserve a medal! I hope to get back to my usual posting schedule this week.

20170711_184333

Tango is perfectly camouflaged with our new carpet

One thought on “Life lately: winter 2017

  1. thenewmrsm2016 says:

    Great to see what you have been upto! It’s always good to feel like you are back on the band wagon when you have lost all momentum for a little while! I wish I was more creative, I mean I can plan kids activities and parties until they come out of mg ears but craft for myself I just cannot do! Keeping my garden pretty is the only slightly crafty thing I do for myself! 🙂

Leave a Reply

