Adventures in Adult Braces: June

Let’s rewind to last month when I was so optimistic that there was light at the end of the braces tunnel. Those hopes were dashed on the rocks of this month’s appointment.

Last month we put more focus on addressing the tooth that was out of alignment. Well, that tooth is extremely stubborn and refused to be moved. It moved minutely, but not enough to satisfy my doctor. So this month we threw the entire arsenal at it. The block on that tooth was replaced with something a lot strong to force the stubborn little thing into place.

Currently, the block is a bigger annoyance than the tooth because of where it is situated. My canine keeps knocking it and I can’t close my teeth properly. I have been assured that this will only be for a few days as the tooth settles and moves. Here’s hoping.

The only other adjustment that was made was that I now only have to wear my elastics at night and not 24 hours a day anymore. This is all well and good, but I’m worried that I will forget to put them in. I have to try and be extra vigilant.

My orthodontist was incredibly happy with the progress he is seeing. He says the treatment is a huge success – his exact words. But there is still no word on when they braces will be coming off. He did mention in passing that the length of treatment was until March next year (this is news to me!!) and that at this rate I could be finished by December.

He did mention in passing that the length of treatment was until March next year and that at this rate I could be finished by December. This is all news to me. I was under the impression that treatment was only 18 months long and I have been holding out to have the braces removed in October at the latest. I feel a little despondent to learn that I may have so long to go still.

 

 

Leave a Reply

