A change is as good as a holiday

20170322_083951-ANIMATION

I have been feeling stuck in a rut for a while now and haven’t really been able to shake the feeling.

So after a lot of deliberation, Pinterest searching, website reading and more I decided to take matters into my own hands and create the change I was craving. I chopped all my hair off! I have had short hair a lot in the past, but I’ve never been so extreme. This time I went for the pixie, or my variation of it anyway.

I don’t know why girls tend to take their frustrations out on their hair? But hey they say a change is as good as a holiday and I’m so happy with the new look. It’s definitely different for me, but I love that.

It was a bit of a spontaneous decision. I got the idea in my head after reading a book where the heroine had a blonde pixie cut. I then started thinking about how I hadn’t done anything new and exciting with my hair in a very long time. So I went where every girl goes when she needs inspiration. Pinterest. There are so many photos of incredibly beautiful pixie cuts on Pinterest that you can’t help but be inspired.

Once I got the idea in my head I became obsessed. I felt the urge to pull the trigger and it was so strong! So I went where every girl goes when she needs inspiration. Pinterest. There are so many photos of incredibly beautiful pixie cuts on Pinterest that you can’t help but be inspired.

The first thing I did was call the brides in two weddings I have coming up and asked them if they would divorce me if I cut all my hair off. Neither had an issue with it, so that excuse was taken off the table.

20170321_125920

The next step was to head for the hairdressers, which I did yesterday as it was a public holiday here in SA. The hairdresser was one I have never seen before (maybe not the best decision, but I felt the need for a fresh start and all that). She was lovely. I showed her my vast collection of photos and we discussed what would look best with my hair type (fine) and my face shape (oval but a little on the long side). She also suggested I put a few foils in the

We decided on a cut that was quite short on the back with a bit of length on the top and around the ears as I need a little width. She also suggested I put a few foils in the swoop across the front of my face as we were cutting out all my old colour so I would need a little lift.

I was that weird combination of excited and terrified. I’m normally not so fussed with my hair, it grows. But this was a big change. So I got the shakes a bit. But as soon as she took the razor to my hair I felt more excited than anything.

20170321_125928

I’m so happy with the final result!!! It looks awesome. I may go back and have her make the bits on my right side a smidgen shorter. But I’m still on the fence about that. I want to live with the cut for a bit and see how it wears every day.

I won’t lie, it feels weird not to have hair on my6 neck and when I run my hands through it I’m always surprised by how short it is, but I love, love, love it. I never thought I would suit such short hair. If you’ve been thinking about it I say go for it!

PS, if you’re in the Bryanston area you should totally go see Coco at the Paul Mitchell Salon at Bryanston Shopping Centre. She was awesome.

 

Leave a Reply

