Keeping the family on track

20170206_094805

The bare bones of a double page spread in my bullet journal before I start filling in my to do list

Towards the end of last year and the beginning of this, I found myself feeling like I was continually chasing my tale.

As a family, we have had so much going on that I have felt really overwhelmed and unable to keep track of it all. This had far reaching consquences. Many facets of our lives were spiralling out of control and I knew I had to do something, for my sanity and the health of my family.As a

As a mom, you are not only in charge of looking after yourself, but also your children, and to a lesser extent, you husband. It usually falls to me to make sure appointments are met, birthdays are remembered and work is getting done, all while making sure the groceries are bought, dinner is on the table and the house is clean. I can imagine this only gets harder as you have more children and they grow up!

The biggest tool that has helped me to control this situation is the bullet journal. What I love about the bullet journal is how completely customisable it is and how you don’t need anything fancy to have one. I use a simple lined not book and it works like a charm.

In my bullet journal I have an index (I find it really helpful to number the pages and add spreads to my index as I go along. This makes finding things a lot easier), a future log (a four page spread divided up into the different months of the year where I record events I know are coming up like holidays, birthdays, due dates and weddings), and monthly spreads. My monthly spreads are divided into a monthly log (a quick overview of the big things coming up that month, any tasks or goals I want to achieve, my blog plan for the month and what needs to get done in the garden as well as notes I record such as rainfall etc.

My monthly spreads begin with four pages where I list a monthly log (a quick overview of the big things coming up that month, any tasks or goals I want to achieve, my blog plan for the month and what needs to get done in the garden as well as notes I record such as rainfall etc. I then have each week on a double page spread so I can have my work and home calendar on one page and my admin on the other page. This is what works for me – there are so many ideas out there that a quick internet search will give you tons of inspiration.

For my weekly calendar I break the page down into five days for the work week and in the sixth section I have the weekend. I then divide the page in half with work on the one side and home on the other. In the work section, I list all those tasks I need to get stuff done each day. I keep the list to the top three priorities. In the home section, I list any appointments we have that week, birthdays, date night and what housework needs to be done each day.

The on the admin side I have my weekly meal plan, a list of tasks that while aren’t time specific, need to be done that week, and I have a notes section for things that must be scheduled for the next week. To be fair, this final section has changed quite a lot while I experiment to see what I need to have as part of my diary.

Setting up the bullet journal each week is fun and something I look forward to. I’m not as big into the doodles as some people are, but I do like to decorate it and use coloured pens to make it look special. I like using the Staedtler Fine Line pens and washi tape. It doesn’t take very long and I get a lot of satisfaction out of it. I always write tasks down in black pen.

Since I started my bullet journal I am finding myself to be a lot more productive. I can see what the priorities are clearly, I’m not getting bogged down in an unmanageable to do list and I am remembering important things. It’s been a life changer for me!

 

Leave a Reply

