Where have I been

There I go again, promising all sorts of posts and updates and then thoroughly disappearing from the internet.

I’m not going to say I’m back for good this time, because that always ends up back firing on me. But I will tell you where I have been and what we’ve been up to. The start to 2017 has been in a word: hectic. I have felt as if I am constantly chasing my tale and this has left me in an uncomfortable place where I lack the motivation to do much of anything.

It’s been a bit of an emotional rollercoaster with challenges both on a personal and a work front; so any down time that I have had has been spent focusing on myself and my family. That’s not to say life has been bad. Oh no, we’ve had a lot of fun and laughter going on, punctuated by only a handful of not so nice times. It’s just that after long days at work I’m tired and not inspired to write blog posts. I’ve been dealing with my monumental to do list as best I can: one day at a time with a good helping of procrastination and denial. As you do.

All this culminated in me getting weird episodes of dizziness and nausea over the past few weeks. My whole face would get tight and I’d have a lot of pressure in my head, but not really pain. I felt exhausted and unsteady on my feet and the only way to feel good was to lie or sit down and not move. It was fun.

I did go to the doctor who said it could be flu presenting in a strange way or a type of migraine, but she wanted to test me for malaria and pregnancy as well, just in case. Both of those tests were negative and I’ve been treating things symptomatically and am starting to feel better, apart from the giant bruise and sore arm I have post blood draw. Because I’m pathetic and look like I’ve been through the wars after simple procedures.

The long and the short of it is that I have been trying to take it easy when I can, take my foot off the accelerator for a bit and just be kind and gentle to myself. So far that seems to be helping.

Willow is growing like crazy at the moment. We recently went for her 2 year old appointment with her paediatrician. She’s right on track with her milestones and is now 90cm tall and weighs 13 kilograms. She’s 90th percentile for both height and weight which is in line with her stats since she was born.

She’s in this phase of life where she is a little sponge soaking up everything around her. Her vocabulary grows by the day and she does things all the time that leave me a bit flabbergasted. I was looking at her the other day wondering how she got so big. All signs of babyhood seem to be so far behind her now.

She’s cheeky and spunky and loves to hide, play peekaboo and sing songs. She’s very sweet and comes to get hugs all the time. We do get temper tantrums, especially when she’s frustrated, but we’re working on getting her to use words to express her wants and to communicate better. It’s hard for all of us to be understood sometimes.

We did have a very rough patch at the end of January into the middle of February where she wasn’t sleeping well and would be more fractious than usual. But she has settled down beautifully again and is getting on so well. I think she must have gone through a Wonder Week.

So now you’re all caught up. I hope to get back into the swing of things myself. I don’t enjoy existing in survival mode so I am taking steps to get life back on the tracks.

Chat soon xx.

Leave a Reply

