Wrapping up 2016

Heart shaped leaf in Pilgrims Rest

2016 has felt incredibly long. We managed to jam so much into one year that it boggles the mind. It was a mixed bag for us, with many ups and downs. But on the whole, I have to say that 2016 was good, but a lot of work. I feel like this year required so much effort!
We did have a lot of fun things happen.

We celebrated Willow’s first birthday in style early in January. It was a lot of fun to plan and execute her birthday party. While we won’t be doing anything quite so big for her second I plan to make it special.

Viewing game on the river

Willow also started school this year and has really blossomed. She loves going to school every day, seeing her friends and teachers. She has grown and developed so much there.
I formally went back to work this year. I enjoy having adult interactions outside the home, while still having plenty of time to spend with Willow. I have also had the opportunity to work on some exciting projects and do things I have never done before.

Gold panning with Granny

My friend had her second baby in April. He is a real sweetheart and it just blows my mind to think he was a tiny little thing and now he is almost walking and is such a bubbly personality. Babies really do grow at lightning speed!
Willow took her first steps and is now so mobile! She runs, jumps, climbs and more. She has also started to talk up a storm. She graduated from baby to toddler so quickly.

We found the end of the rainbow! One of the most magical moments of my life

I set the goal of making time for myself and my hobbies and I have been really successful with that. I have read a ton of books, I have completed quite a few knitting projects. I have even sold a few scarves after people saw the ones I made for my friends. I have learned techniques I have never attempted before and I’m really chuffed with how much I have improved.
I also wanted to learn how to sew this year and while I still have a long way to go, I have made some in roads. I’m not intimidated by the sewing machine anymore and have completed a few projects including a pair of shorts for Willow, and new sheets for her bed.  I have also taken in some of my own clothes and have some projects planned for the new year.

Christmas day fun

I also wanted to spend some quality time with A this year. We established weekly date nights and survived a week where Willow was away with her grandparents.
I was also really blessed to spend time with my sisters this year. They both came home individually during the year and then together in November. It was wonderful to have some together.

Enjoying summer cherries

I’m really looking forward to next year. We have some exciting stuff planned. We kick off the year with Willow’s second birthday, then A turns 30 later that month. There will be a new addition to our extended family in March when A’s cousin has her baby. Our close friends and my cousin will be getting married in April and I’m a bridesmaid (I refuse to say the word matron!) in both weddings. Then we’ll be heading off to Hong Kong to see my sisters and celebrate my Brother-in-Law’s 30th. And that’s just the first quarter!

Three monkeys in a tub!

I hope 2017 is filled with all that you hope and wish for! Chat soon! xx

Leave a Reply

