Friday Favourites: 25 November

A blurry photo of a gorgeous sunset. It's hard to take images in a moving game viewing vehicle when you're sick ;)

A blurry photo of a gorgeous sunset. It’s hard to take images in a moving game viewing vehicle when you’re sick 😉

 

This damn cold is still getting me down.

Every time I think I’m on the mend I have a serious relapse and end up right back where I started. It’s made worse by the fact that I can’t take time off due to the craziness that is my life right now. I’m full of aches and pains and will be solo parenting this weekend as A is away. I plan to do as little as possible. I just hope Willow cooperates!

Willow helping Uncle Riri with the scrambled eggs

Willow helping Uncle Riri with the scrambled eggs

Despite being sick I have been determined to make the most of the friend and family time we had last weekend.  I just tried to live in the moment and enjoy every day to the most. I think I was pretty successful at it too. I have a huge amount of memories stockpiled.

Feeding the peacocks with Granny

Feeding the peacocks with Granny

We don’t celebrate Thanksgiving in South Africa, but seeing all the posts from American friends gets me thinking about all the blessings in my life. I have really been spoilt with special moments spent with my family and good friends recently. It really does the soul so much good. I’m so grateful for all the amazing people in my life. I just love this time of year! I always have the best memories of summer, Christmas, holidays and family time.

Willow decided the best part about bush holidays were the snacks

Willow decided the best part about bush holidays were the snacks

I really look forward to this festive season now that Willow getting older and is really coming to see the magic in this time of year. We’re going to be busy! We have a weekend jaunt to Durban coming up followed by a child-free week – Willow will be staying with her grandparents for the week in Durban and I’m not sure I’m going to survive it. Then my company and Willow’s school will be closing for the year. After that, we have just one week to get ready for Christmas before we head to my parent’s house where my In-Laws will also be joining us. We plan to also head to my In-Laws for a few days and spend New Years there. So much has to be squeezed into that short time! I can’t believe the year is almost over already!

Birthday gift from my sister

Birthday gift from my sister

I hope you have all been having a wonderful season so far and that you are making your own wonderful memories. Happy Thanksgiving to all my American friends.

Dinner is serious when you need two forks!

Dinner is serious when you need two forks!

Have a great weekend. Chat soon! xx

 

Two weeks of wear with just a little bit of regrowth. So impressed

Two weeks of wear with just a little bit of regrowth. So impressed

Product of the week: I really didn’t want to worry about my nails these last two weeks as I knew I would be really busy. So I got out my at home UV lamp and applied a gel manicure. The colour I selected was this one called Modern Mauve by Speedy Gels (available from Dischem). I’m obsessed! The polish applied so nicely and has lasted so well! I went through full two weeks without a chip and zero lifting. They have also stayed shiny and bouncy looking. I’m really impressed.  Plus I love the colour!

My gorgeous earrings from my sister

My gorgeous earrings from my sister

Purchase of the week: My sister spoilt me rotten on out shopping trip together last week. She bought me these awesome jacket earrings from Forever New and this absolutely gorgeous rose gold necklace. I love them so much.

Bush baby

Bush baby

Best moment: We had a photoshoot on the edge of a dam at the game farm where we were staying with my family. We got some great photos which I hope to be able to share soon. But the best moments was how everyone made silly faces and sang ridiculous songs to get Willow to laugh and smile for the photos. We were all laughing so hard my stomach ached and the end result was so worth it. We all looked so happy. I’m going to print these photos out for the wall!

My gorgeous girl at a family braai

My gorgeous girl at a family braai

Looking forward to: I’m going to take a moment this weekend to get some rest. I just haven’t been able to shake this throat infection. My voice is slowly coming back in increments, but I feel it’s important to really recoup. Especially with the Holiday season now upon us. Plus the Gilmore Girl’s revival will be out on Netflix. I plan some major binge watching. I adore Gilmore Girls and I can’t wait to see what Amy Shermann Palldino has in store!

Leave a Reply

