Friday Favourites: 11 November Christmas shopping fails

A summer storm rolling in

A summer storm rolling in

I attempted to make a start on the seemingly insurmountable task of Christmas shopping this week. I say attempted because nothing really went according to plan.

I have had an idea of what I want to get Willow for her birthday for ages. After a lot of discussion, we decided on what we wanted to get. We browsed online a lot but thought it would be best to go to the toy store and see it in person before committing.

Willow is obsessed with going to the pool. She always asks to go 'Swee!'

Willow is obsessed with going to the pool. She always asks to go ‘Swee!’

I was hoping that while at the toy store I could knock off some Christmas presents for the kids in our lives as well as another birthday in early January. That didn’t happen. Instead, we left with Willow sorted for her birthday and nothing else. At least I won’t have to worry about what we’re giving her for her birthday. Just where I’m going to store everything until January…

As for Christmas, I feel at a total loss. I had a few ideas that have all seemed to just fizzle into nothing. I feel decidedly uninspired when it comes to gifts this year – very unlike me. I’m starting to descend into mild panic.

She bares an uncanny resemblence to Edith from Despicable me in this hat. which she puts on whenever she finds it. The girl is all about hats right now

She bares an uncanny resemblence to Edith from Despicable me in this hat. which she puts on whenever she finds it. The girl is all about hats right now

I have no idea why this Christmas is getting to me so much. It just seems incredibly stress-inducing. I think it’s because I have so much on my plate at the moment. I have a lot of work, two family trips, and long, solo road trip coming up. Christmas seems to be very low on the priority list right now.

Oh well, I hope to have this all resolved soon. I do have a little more than a month to get my act together.

Poor little was sick on the weekend. She didn't sleep well on Friday night and wouldn't sleep on Saturday. She eventually fell asleep on my lap in our bed

Poor little was sick on the weekend. She didn’t sleep well on Friday night and wouldn’t sleep on Saturday. She eventually fell asleep on my lap in our bed

I hope you all have a great weekend! Chat soon.

 

Willow adores watermelon!

Willow adores watermelon!

Best moment: A wasn’t feeling very well on Thursday morning and Willow was so concerned about him. She kept creeping up to the side of the bed and staring at him with solemn eyes. She would pat him gently on the arm and kept trying to give him cuddles. It was adorable.

Looking forward to: We’re going out with friends to see Annie tonight and then my sisters are arriving on Saturday! We have a family reunion on Sunday and then on Wednesday I’m heading to the bush to join them. I’m really excited for some quality family time.

Her love for her babies is really strong right now.

Her love for her babies is really strong right now.

Leave a Reply

