Friday Favourites: 4 November A bad case of Mine Syndrome

My first gardenia bloom! The scent is incredible

My first gardenia bloom! The scent is incredible

This week has been a tough one. Willow and I have not exactly been getting along and it has been unbearably hot due to a really intense heat wave gripping Joburg and the water restrictions getting more strict.

Toddler teething = the worst!

Toddler teething = the worst!

I try to be as understanding of Willow’s outbursts as I can. I imagine it must be incredibly frustrating to not be able to effectively communicate your wants and needs.

To her credit we usually only see tantrums when she is hungry, tired, sick, in pain (teething) or in recent days extremely hot. All perfectly valid times to be a little cranky.

But she has started doing something that drives me absolutely crazy! I can only hope she will grow out of it and soon.

She has become incredibly possessive about things and will shout ‘Mine!” and whine and whimper if the object is withheld from her. If you say no she can’t have something, she will scream ‘mine’ and break down into a full on tantrum.

Rainwater harvesting tank finally installed and just in time!

Rainwater harvesting tank finally installed and just in time!

She does this for things that she would normally be given in any account, like her back pack when we’re on our way to school or her bottle or one of her toys. Then she also does it with things that I would never allow her to play with, such as a pair of scissors for example or my make up or hair pins. She does it when she wants treats and I have said no because it is too close to dinner time.

It is getting extremely frustrating and has become a trigger for me. The first few times it happened I was able to go through the motions and manage as best I could until her fit of temper faded. Now I just see red. It is so hard not to lower myself to her level and argue with a toddler, because they are completely irrational beings and reasoning with her would get us nowhere.

This is the part of parenting I was dreading and find so incredibly difficult. It’s hard to remind myself that I’m the adult in this situation and there is a perfectly good reason why she can’t have something. I know she’s testing the boundaries. But in the moment I find it very difficult to handle.

Watermelon picnics and time in the pool - the only way to beat the heatwave

Watermelon picnics and time in the pool – the only way to beat the heatwave

The heat wave we have been experiencing hasn’t been helping. We’re all crankier than usual thanks to poor sleep and just being uncomfortable. Plus I spend 90% of my days with either the Doc McStuffins theme song or ‘Time for Your Check Up’ stuck in my head, which is annoying as hell.

This face will be two in two months! I can hardly believe it

This face will be two in two months! I can hardly believe it

We’re still a few months away, but I can tell you the terrible twos are real! And so is the struggle.

Nothing better than daddy tossing you around in the pool

Nothing better than daddy tossing you around in the pool

I hope you all have a great weekend. Chat soon!

images-2

Product of the week: I have fallen in love with a new foundation. The Catrcie HD Liquid Coverage Foundation is just lovely. It has a solid medium coverage that can be built up to high. This means I don’t have to wear any concealer, which I love. It is also so light weight and dries down matte so no need for powder. But it’s the staying power I love most. Even in this heat this foundation looks incredible at the end of the day. Plus as its really affordable.

img_20161104_103159

Purchase of the week: The new Essence Colour and Care Lipstick with Avocado Butter is where it’s at! I bought the shade Life is My Runway – Beautiful every day pinkish brown and it is just gorgeous. The shade is lovely and quite pigmented, but the formula is awesome. It’s easy to apply and feels so comfortable and hydrating. I want all the shades.

Afternoon cuddles with Babay on the couch

Afternoon cuddles with Babay on the couch

Best moment: Willow has started to show signs of role playing. In recent days she has become interested in her dolls. She likes wrapping them up in blankets and trying to feed them. She brings them to me and announces its a “Babay!” She also likes them to be in her lap when she watches cartoons and gives them kisses. It’s incredibly sweet

Rain at last!

Rain at last!

Looking forward to: Some rain and then end of this heat wave! I love summer, but this is downright oppressive. I would also like Willow to have a decent night’s sleep because that means I get to sleep too.

Leave a Reply

