Friday Favourites: October 28: Post Birthday blues and a mystery virus

Beautiful lillies in bloom in the garden. Is there anything more summery than hot days and day lilies?

Beautiful lillies in bloom in the garden. Is there anything more summery than hot days and day lilies?

This week has been a curious mixture of good and bad. After the incredible high of last week and a truly unforgettable birthday weekend, my family was struck down by a mystery tummy virus.

Poor Willow spent Sunday night throwing up and has been battling stomach cramps and a fever since. I followed shortly thereafter with the severe stomach cramps and nausea. It’s that horrible place where just the thought of food makes me want to be sick. Bleugh. We’re still recovering even though most of the symptoms are gone.

Besties who eat together stay together

Besties who eat together stay together

I managed to take Monday off work to be home with Willow, but I had a lot on plate at work this week and couldn’t afford any more time off. Even though I wasn’t feeling my best I had an incredibly productive week at work and did some work I am truly proud of. It gave me quite the thrill and made a tough week a little bit better.

I was too ill and too busy to pay much attention to the blog but hope to get back into the swing of things next week. This weekend is going to be a quiet one at home. We plan to do a bit more recovering and to install my new rainwater harvesting tank that I got for my birthday!

Willow has become obsessed with babies. i think she's trying to tell me something

Willow has become obsessed with babies. I think she’s trying to tell me something

I hope you all have a fantastic weekend. Chat soon!

The skirt that has been saving me from the heat

The skirt that has been saving me from the heat

Product of the week: I have been living in my cotton midi skirts this week. It has been so hot here! We are in the middle of a heatwave and these skirts are a life saver. They are so soft, floaty, light and flattering. I have two and I adore them.

This stuff is delicious!

This stuff is delicious!

Purchase of the week: In light of being spoilt for my birthday and the being ill, I haven’t bought anything beyond groceries all week. That said; have you tried the Cranberry and Coconut Granola from Woolies? It’s delicious! The perfect brekkie for hot summer mornings.

Chilling by the pool.

Chilling by the pool.

Taking in the animals with Granny. Ice lollies are a hot weather essential!

Taking in the animals with Granny. Ice lollies are a hot weather essential!

Best moment: The weekend was such a highlight for me. It meant so much to have all the best people with me to mark the occasion. The only people missing where my sisters and brother in law. But they sent me a gorgeous video from Hong Kong where they sang to me in Cantonese and celebrated with dinner ‘in my memory’ I did remind them that I was 30 and not dead 😉

Why do cats insist on cuddling when its boiling hot outside. Still, how can you say no to that face?

Why do cats insist on cuddling when its boiling hot outside. Still, how can you say no to that face?

Looking forward to: Recovering from the big weekend and mystery virus, getting Willow back on schedule and installing the tank. We have a little rain coming in and I hope to be able to catch some of it!

Leave a Reply

