Friday Favourites: October 7

Well, Hey October! I love this time of the year. October is my birthday month (I love birthdays) and it has some of the best weather.

This October started off quite busy, but besides a weekend trip for my birthday later in the month it looks like we will have plenty of time to relax and catch our breath following a whirlwind September.

Willow enjoying her babychino at Mugg and Bean

Willow enjoying her babychino at Mugg and Bean

We played host to both my family and A’s family this week. Willow also decided this was the perfect time to come down with bronchitis and cut another molar. She also walked into a table on Sunday and gave herself one hell of a black eye. Good sleep has been a bit thin on the ground lately. I have been living off caffeine and buying shares in concealer. I am just happy the little one is starting to feel better. She was utterly miserable on the weekend.

You know the child is sick when she asks to be put in her crib

You know the child is sick when she asks to be put in her crib

I have also been indulging my new found passion for home made beauty and self care products. I have made face oil, toner, cleansing grains, deodorant, face masks and body lotion. I have really been enjoying the process and the results. I think my skin has been looking really good lately (save for a few hormonal blemishes, but what can you do about those?)

Green Smoothie for the win! Poor munchkin had a sore throat and has been teething. So this was the best way to get some healthy food into her

Green Smoothie for the win! Poor munchkin had a sore throat and has been teething. So this was the best way to get some healthy food into her

I have also managed to spend some quality time in the garden and have gotten back into reading, which has done my soul so much good. Sometimes a body just needs to slow down a bit and enjoy the little things.

Face painting day at school

Face painting day at school

It looks like I have very few photos from this week and most of them aren’t even sharp! That is the best representation I can give you of the week!

Product of the week: I’m going to list one of my homemade concoctions this week. I recently whipped up a small batch of homemade facial oil and I don’t think I’m ever going back. Firstly it works out to be a lot more affordable than the store bought variety. Secondly, it is everything I have ever wanted in facial oil – quick absorbing, light in texture, really hydrating, chemical and paraben free. Thirdly my skin loves it! My skin looks bright, clear, hydrated, my dark circles and pigmentation are less obvious, any blemishes I develop seem to heal faster. It’s brilliant.

sku7796-soil-organic-rose-hip-oil-30ml-large

Purchase of the week: I needed some Rosehip Seed Oil for my homemade facial oil. I found some for a pretty decent price at Dischem. The brand I bought was Soil, which is organic and all that good stuff. It is really lovely oil. Rosehip is a natural source of vitamin A (great for rejuvenation and anti-aging). It has made all the difference to my facial oil.

Best moment: I asked Willow if her teeth were sore and she grabbed my hand and stuck my finger in her mouth so I could feel her swollen gum. A and I nearly collapsed laughing!!!

Looking forward to: I think I have finally found a bridesmaids dress for my cousin’s wedding next year! I’m heading off to buy it this weekend. At last, I have something I can tick off the to do list. The anticiaption is killing me. I also have the last of the pots I need to finish off the to dos in my garden. So Sunday I will be elbow deep in mud. Best.

Leave a Reply

