Discovering new ways to use kefir

20160908_143729

This weekend I tried my hand at a few recipes to help me use up the milk kefir I seem to be farming on mass scale at the moment.
That’s the one thing they don’t tell you about Kefir. Once you start making it, the grains grow and you need to keep feeding them so you make more, more, more. I have heard they go into hibernation in the fridge, but I haven’t tried it myself.
Long story short: I have a lot of kefir. And since I’m the only one who consumes the milk variety I struggle to keep up sometimes. So the experimentation has started to find ways to use it that the whole family will enjoy.

20160910_092230
I found this recipe for Kefir Pancakes which was absolutely delicious! I highly recommend this one. Everyone loved them and it was easy to whip together.
I also tried my hand at Kefir Muffins. This basic recipe is good and I can see how I could alter this. I do think this one needs further experimentation.
I start each morning off with a kefir smoothie. It’s really simple and I adjust the recipe according to what ingredients I have but generally it is a handful of frozen berries, a banana, almond butter, a sprinkle of oats, a spoonful of maca powder. Top off with half a cup of kefir and blend. You can make this with whatever fruit you have or make it green using avocado and kale or spinach. You can also make the mix and freeze it in lolly moulds. Willow is a huge fan of this!
I have also made a batch of Pistachio flavoured Kefir Ice Cream using this recipe and adding 500g of pistachios to it. I don’t have an ice cream churner so I made it in an old ice cream cup and stirred it up every 30 minutes. It worked really well and if quite delicious! You can make it any flavour you like as well. It has a slightly sour taste, a bit like frozen yogurt. Best part? It used up two cups of kefir.

2 thoughts on “Discovering new ways to use kefir

    • kierrynh says:

      It does have a slightly sour taste similar to natural yogurt. I find that the fermentation time really affects how strong that sour taste is. It’s really hot where I live at the moment so I cannot leave the kefir to ferment longer than 24 hours or it is too sour for me. When it’s cooler I find it takes longer to ferment. That said, my husband doesn’t like the taste either. I like to blend it into smoothies, then you don’t get so much sour taste at all.

Leave a Reply

