Getting Back to Basics

It hasn’t been something I have really spoken about on the blog, but for the last couple of months, I have been feeling really out of sorts.

That’s the best way to describe it. Try as I might I can’t come up with anything better. I haven’t been ill per say but have had this general feeling of not being quite right. I have been trying all sort to get back to feeling normal.

At first, I thought it was just the weather and being stuck in winter that was getting me down. But now that I am finally starting to feel as if I’m turning a corner I realise that it was a lot more than that. I am extremely grateful to be feeling like myself again.

It has been months of small, steady steps and changes towards trying to be happier and feel better. I have slowly introduced habits into my days that I feel have gone a long way towards helping get out of the doldrums. I still have a way to go. But I thought I would share some things with you.

Getting the implant removed

I wrote a very long and detailed post about this if you want to give it a read. But since having it removed I have felt so much better! It’s like a weight has been lifted.

Starting the day with lemon water

I fell off the bandwagon with this habit; a combination of laziness and running out of lemons. But I have been back at it for the past two weeks and I cannot believe the difference! I feel more awake and energised in the mornings. I really look forward to it, my skin is clearing. I don’t know why but I’m always surprised by what a big difference such a small change makes.

Waking up earlier and naturally

Now that it is getting warmer I have started sleeping with the curtains open again. This means that I am waking up to natural light in the mornings. While I certainly don’t bounce out of bed I am definitely in a much better mood and not as exhausted when I go to sleep.

Putting my electronics on night mode and going to sleep earlier

I have set myself a bedtime of 10pm and I have my electronics go into night mode from about 7pm. This has made a big difference to how well I fall asleep and how deeply I sleep.

Limiting caffeine, drinking more water

I know, I know! But this is so hard for me to do when it’s cold and before I know it I’m drinking cup after cup of coffee. These past few weeks I have kept it to two cups of coffee, which I never have before 9am. I try to finish one litre of water at work and one more at home.

Getting outside

I have been spending more time outside soaking up some sun. I potter about my garden. I take Willow for walks, I breathe fresh air. It’s just what the doctor ordered.

Leave a Reply

