A day in our life: Part time working mom, 20-month old toddler

Playing outside with my girl

Playing outside with my girl

Our schedule has changed up quite a bit since I last wrote one of these. So I thought I would give you a glimpse into what a typical day looks like in our home.

There is quite a bit that has stayed the same. I still strive to get up and moving by 6.30am. Some days I am more successful at this than others. Now that the weather is getting warm I like to water my plants before the heat of the day sets in. Also, this means this will be dry when Willow wants to go play outside.

Most days I end up eating breakfast at my desk and Willow has breakfast at school. So this allows a little wiggle room when it comes to morning chaos. And chaos it is. Most days involve me chasing her around the house trying to get her jacket on or wrangling to get her buckled up in her car seat.

4607237 4474873 4607241

She has moved up a class and school and this one is a lot more active. So she usually has a small nap at school. This can be anything from 15 minutes to 1.5hours. I never know. If she has a short nap I will try and get her to sleep at home. This has varying degrees of success.

We still go to swimming lessons on Mondays and Thursdays.

Pink hat obsession continues

Pink hat obsession continues

6.30am: I wake up, water plants, make coffee, do my skincare and make up routines, get dressed

7.30am: wake Willow, get her dressed, give her a small protein snack

7.50am: in the car and head to school

8am: drop off, head to work

8.30am to 12.50pm: work

1pm: pick Willow up from school. If she is still sleeping I will go do errands and come back at 2pm. If she’s awake we head home.

1.30pm: if she didn’t sleep well at school this is when she will nap. If she had a good sleep I will have mu lunch, which she shares with me.

2pm: change into workout gear and get a workout in. If Willow is a awake she will help me, or play while I workout.

2.30pm: do some laundry, run some errands, start thinking about getting dinner ready or pack our swimming bag

3.30pm: on Mondays and Thursdays this is when we have our swimming lesson

4.30pm: start cooking in earnest. Meals take a lot of prep these days as Willow tends to be quite demanding at these times. I also give her a snack at this time otherwise she will have a meltdown because she’s hungry.

5.30 to 6pm: depending on Willow’s hunger levels this is when we have dinner. Most nights it’s at 6pm.

6.30pm: Do a quick kitchen tidy then it’s off to bath. Willow spends as long as she likes in the bath. Usually 20 to 30 minutes.

7pm: PJs, last bottle of the day, story time and bed.

20160715_150345

A and I still alternate nights to put her down and she knows exactly whose turn it is. Most nights she goes down very easily. Her final bottle of the day has dropped down from 200ml of whole milk to 150mls. She is also not drinking the whole thing anymore so I’m thinking of dropping it again. She has one other bottle at nap time. I think the end of our bottle days is in sight *crosses fingers*.

And that’s it in a night shell. She is allowed some screen time, but not until the very end of the day. I like her to be outside as much as possible. Some days we just hang out at home, some days we will go out on adventures. That always happens in the time slot between 2.30 and 4.30pm.

I find having a predictable routine which allows for some flexibility makes life easier for everyone so we try stick to things as much as possible.

Also, Willow is incredibly active at the moment so I like to plan some activities for her which involve being outside and running around. She loves to help me with my workouts.

And that’s it. I hope you found this useful. We’re in a bit of a transition period now and it shows in our schedule, but it’s all working out so I’m happy to leave things the way they are.

Leave a Reply

