Friday Favourites: August 19

20160816_155313

The gorgeous flower on one of my succlents

We have had a good weekend and week, even if I am currently getting over a small cold. The best part is spring is here! So ridiculously happy right now I could pop!

We kicked off last weekend with wonderfully mild temperatures that have lasted into the week. I even went through the palaver of swapping over our seasonal clothing and repacking a few cupboards on Friday night. It made me feel really good to see new clothing hanging in my cupboard and I look forward to new outfit combinations and experimentation.

Willow's neatly organised clothing drawers. This is already a mess!

Willow’s neatly organised clothing drawers. This is already a mess!

The morning temperatures are creeping higher and higher and we have rain predicted already. Yay!

On Saturday we got together at our friend’s house for curry and catch ups. We had a great day and it was wonderful to see everyone properly after what feels like ages. Our kids played and played and it was just adorable to watch!

Willow stole a container of cream cheese and ate it in the corner (there was very little left) as she was afraid someone would take it from her

Willow stole a container of cream cheese and ate it in the corner (there was very little left) as she was afraid someone would take it from her

Sunday I feel like I came down with something and spent the day laying low and watching Masterchef Australia. A was fantastic and helped a lot with Willow. He also made me breakfast in bed. I love that man!

I woke up to the news that one of the South African Runners won gold with a new record in the men’s 400m at the Olympics and that seemed to set us up for a really good week. Our Olympics good luck continued with a silver for the women’s javelin, bronze in the men’s triathalon and we all expect a gold in the women’s 800m.

Playing outside with my girl

Playing outside with my girl

Other than that it’s been a quiet week. A and I went to a fabulous Mexican restaurant for date night on Tuesday and ate our weight in tacos, which were delicious. I’ve made some really delicious dinners which I plan to make more regular features on our menu and I managed to catch up on a little bit of sleep.

I hope you all had a good week and are looking forward to a great weekend.

Not sure what this was about, but she insisted on wearing this lovie as a cape on the way to school on Friday

Not sure what this was about, but she insisted on wearing this lovie as a cape on the way to school on Friday

Product of the week: Glass roller ball. This is weird I know. But ages ago I got a bottle of Clarins perfume as a gift with purchase. The problem? I loved the scent, but the cologne style bottle was an incredible faf to use. So I just never used it. Then one day it hit me. I should just get something I could decant the perfume into. So I went on the hunt for an atomiser or something similar. The problem is atomiser cost a lot and I couldn’t find one in store. Then I came across these glass roller balls for a mere R14 each! Yes please. I ordered to and two glass spritzer bottles just in case. Well, the roller ball is perfect. I’m getting great use out of my perfume. A even commented on how nice I smelled the other day! Winning. Best part? I can reuse this for something when I’ve gone through the fragrance. I’m planning on experimenting with some essential oils.

Tolo Teapot Shape Sorter

Tolo Teapot Shape Sorter

Purchase of the week: I found this gorgeous shape sorter teapot at a little shop in a lifestyle centre recently. It was so adorable it had to be ours. Willow has been fascinated with it and often sits and plays with it while I’m cooking dinner. The best part is that it comes with a little plastic insert that converts it from a shape sorter into a real teapot for tea parties. I love it! (PS it’s made by TOLO Toys).

Project of the week: I took a break from my waterfall cardigan to quickly knit up a scarf for my friend. I’m getting really good at the whole arm knitting thing and the scarves are really gratifying to make. I’m chuffed with how this one turned out.

L and Willow saying goodbye on Saturday after a day of playing

L and Willow saying goodbye on Saturday after a day of playing

Best moment: Watching Willow play with my friend’s kids. It will be wonderful watching them grow up together. They used to be very wary of each other, but something has clicked for them and they have become good mates. At the end of the day L came up to Willow and gave her a huge hug goodbye. It was adorable!

Looking forward to: warm weather and maybe a touch of rain. I’m so sick of winter, it’s wonderful to see buds starting to appear on the trees and the start of buds on the jasmine.

I am obsessed with how Willow eats. Its the cutest thing I have ever seen

I am obsessed with how Willow eats. Its the cutest thing I have ever seen

 

Leave a Reply

