Friday Favourites: August 12

Pincushion Proteas on the windowsill

Pincushion Proteas on the windowsill

I’ve been a little MIA lately, sorry for that.

Life has gotten extremely busy over the last two weeks and I just needed a little down time to recharge my batteries and catch my breath. Plus, I haven’t been feeling very creative and have been struggling to write. So a little break was definitely needed.

Rugby with my sister

Rugby with my sister

Rugby with my sister

Rugby with my sister

In the past two weeks I have been bridesmaid dress shopping for wedding number one, had discussions for dresses for wedding number two, seen in-laws, my sister and parents (which is always loud and exhausting – we don’t see each other often so we always stay up way too late eeking out the most of our time), seen friends, voted in the elections, stayed up way too late watching Olympics, had a sick child (24 hour tummy bug thank goodness!), and a sick husband (sinus infection again!). It’s been a lot!

Pink hat obsession continues

Pink hat obsession continues

Pink hat obsession

Pink hat obsession

Willow has also been going through some kind of crazy growth spurt. She has been eating us out of house and home, has been iffy about her naps, in general, her sleep schedule is all over the place, and she is clingier and crankier than usual. She is also producing more and more words and constantly mumbling and babbling to herself. It’s very exciting – I keep watching her to see what she will do next. She has also developed an obsession with a show called the Oddbods and trying to keep her from sitting and watching it like a zombie all day has been a challenge. I would say about 80% of the conflict in our house is over that show.

20160807_142007

The weather has slowly been warming up and spring feels like it’s just around the corner now! My garden has started to produce blossoms and flowers all over the place. I can’t wait for the spring. I feel in need of a change.

20160809_105905

I’m looking forward to a life slowing down a little. This weekend is shaping up to be pretty chilled and I’m excited about that. I hope you all have a great weekend! Chat next week.

Pick n Pay trainers are a win

Pick n Pay trainers are a win

Product of the week: I have been in love with my Stila Eyes are the Window Palette in Spirit. I haven’t used it in ages, but I put it back in my top drawer and have been reaching for it almost daily. I love the quality and pigmentation of the shadows. It’s seriously good stuff.

Stila Eyes are the Window Spirit Palette

Stila Eyes are the Window Spirit Palette

Purchase of the week: These trainers from Pick n pay are rocking my world at the moment. They were just R150! They look and feel way more expensive than they were. I love the subtle leopard print, the white Nike-esque soles and the tiny pop of neon. They are super light and are so comfy! I never want to take them off.

Project of the week: I am making slow but steady progress with the waterfall cardigan I’m knitting myself. I am in love with the way the fabric is turning out. The only issue with a project this size is I feel like I will be working on it for the rest of my life! I need to take a break and knit my friend a scarf. I think I’ll have that sorted by the end of the weekend.

Willow insist on wearing my shoes all the time

Willow insists on wearing my shoes all the time

Best moment: Willow handing me her shoes and presenting her foot before saying ‘shoo shoos’. Seriously my heart melted right there. She doesn’t like to be put on the spot when she says something (repeating it is a big no.) So when she says a recognisable word I find it really exciting. Also, she definitely says her name: Wiwo! Gah! The cuteness.

Looking forward to: I’m looking forward to a chilled lunch with my besties on Saturday and a chilled Sunday catching up with errands around the house.

Thursday night indulgences

Thursday night indulgences

Leave a Reply

