Adventures in Adult Braces: August

So after a long break between appointments, I finally got to see the orthodontist this week.

I’m not going to lie. I was really nervous about this appointment. The last time I saw him was in June and progress has been so slow this month. I wasn’t sure what he was going to say and I stressed about it for a while.

That said I have had days when my teeth would hurt. I have also noticed that my bite feels different which gave me the impression that there was movement happening. Finally, I have noticed that I am getting sore spots again from where the braces are rubbing the inside of my mouth, which I have heard happens when the teeth move and rub on a spot that hasn’t toughened up yet.

The appointment actually went very smoothly. He did the quick check to see how everything was going and access which adjustments to make. He then told me that the progress was excellent and that my oral hygiene and health is excellent. Both very good things.

He confirmed that yes, my teeth had moved fractionally. The biggest concern was making the gap her created last time bigger. I mentioned that they put a spring in and it has done it’s job. The gap is now ‘a crater’ which apparently was the goal. I’ll take it.

Now out mission is to move the teeth one my one into that gap so that my midline is put back where it belongs. I have very strong elastics which I am currently wearing day and night.

They also put a larger gauge wire on my bottom teeth. I’m not going to lie, this hurts like a son of a bitch. Holy crap! It also makes my mouth feel weird. I’m getting over it now, so it’s taken two full days to adjust. I’m just glad we’ve downgraded from full on pain to mild discomfort.

Anywho, I go back on September 6. Hopefully, then we will have an indication of when the palatal arch can be removed! Straight teeth are just around the corner.

Leave a Reply

