Friday Favourites: 8 July

20160707_142112

My garden is full of winter colour and looking so pretty. It makes me so happy to go outside

This week I have really tried hard to focus on re-establishing healthy habits. I find it so hard in the winter. All I want to do is eat carbs, hide under the blankets and binge watch shows on Netflix.

Unfortunately, all the pasta, cookies and endless cup of tea has left me feeling drained, dehydrated and cranky. So I took the opportunity of a quiet weekend at home to refocus, reenergize and recommit to being healthy and happy.

I have been trying to cook delicious, healthy food, get some workouts in and drink a lot of water. I must say I am starting to feel better. It really pays to make the right choices.

20160707_172003

Our new method of entertaining Willow while we cook dinner. The crayon is part of a set from Melissa and Doug

This week Willow turned 18 months old! This year is just flying past. She is such a happy little tot with a great sense of fun.

We also went for her 18-month wellness check up. I have a full post on her progress here. She also had to get more vaccinations. I think we’re nearly done with vacs for a while now. Next time we go for a checkup will be when she turns 2!

This week’s date night was spent eating Thai food and enjoying a good chat. It feels so good to be able to spend time with my husband just being us for a while. I have so much fun with him and I really look forward to these evenings when we get to go out.

So that was our week in a nutshell. I hope you all have a great weekend.

20160706_152723

Strawberries and a rocking session outside. Willow is still in love with her little play area

Products of the week: Grapefruit from Pick ‘n pay are the most delicious I have had in a long time! They are so sweet and juicy with that slight grapefruit bitterness. I’m in grapefruit heaven right here.

Purchase of the week: I got these shoes on sale at Dischem from R100 marked down from R450! I have been looking for a pair like this for a long time and these are perfect. They are lightweight, comfortable and I am obsessed with this olive green colour. I can’t wait for the weather to warm up so I can wear them.

Project of the week: The ice cream jersey is almost done! I have just finished up the sleeves and then I just have to finish the neck edging and putting it together. I can’t wait for Willow to start wearing this. I don’t think I have ever been more proud of how a project has turned out.

20160701_165224

Doll in one hand, house in the other. This is how we do it when its too cold to go outside…

Best moment: Watching Willow walk around the house with her hands in her pockets or folded in front of her. She is picking up many of these little mannerisms and they are adorable. Also, she has become a hugger. We cannot leave school or swimming lessons without giving everybody goodbye hugs!

Looking forward to: A little relief from the cold. It has been bitter here the last few days and I just need a reprieve!

20160703_120709

One positive of all this cold weather is that Foxtrot gets super cuddly. So whatever down time I have had means snuggles on the couch with the cat

Leave a Reply

