Friday Favourites: July 1

20160626_100715

A Littel Kingfisher who spent ages perched in the balcony outside out bedroom on th weekend

A pinch and a punch for the first of the month! I hope you all have a wonderful July. Our month already looks like it’s going to be quite busy.

We have just spent a quiet week at home following a weekend away at A’s parent house in Mpumalanga. It’s nice to be able to get out of the city and we had a really nice weekend. Willow played herself out with her grandparents.

The damage I did to myself by walking into a door...

The damage I did to myself by walking into a door…

The miracle of makeup. I'm really proud of how I managed to cover it up so well, still a bit swollen here

The miracle of makeup. I’m really proud of how I managed to cover it up so well, still a bit swollen here

I stupidly walked into a glass door on Saturday and managed to give myself one hell of a black eye. So this week I have learned a lot about colour correcting and the power of makeup. As the week has gone on I’ve gotten pretty good at covering it up. Just one of the many reasons I love make up.

This is my doll from when I was Willow's age. She is now obsessed with it.

This is my doll from when I was Willow’s age. She is now obsessed with it.

Willow has been so cute lately. She is adopting so many mannerisms that are just adorable. She’s really into sharing food and most snacks and mealtimes involve a lot of ‘one for you and one for me’. She is also really into singing. Twinkle Twinkle Little Star is her favourite song and she sits and ‘sings’ it quite a bit. It involves a lot of ‘oooh’ and ‘aaaw’ sounds. How do I know its Twinkle Twinkle? I can recognize the tune! Seriously! Willow also loves to put her hands in her pockets and will often wander around the house with her hands tucked in the pockets of the waistcoat.

Playing on the computer with Daddy

Playing on the computer with Daddy

A and I went out for dinner and to watch Independence Day Resurgence on Wednesday for Date Night. It was really fun. The movie was good, but we found ourselves getting nostalgic for the original.

I feel a little bit of a cold coming on, so this weekend we plan to stay close to home and take it easy.

Products of the week: Red lipstick and concealer has been my life saver. I didn’t have a colour corrector with enough pigment, but by mixing a little concealer and red lipstick on the back of my hand I managed to create one that worked perfectly to cover up my bruise.

Project of the week: Willow’s ice cream jersey is coming along! I needed to take it out and start again, but now it’s looking perfect. I have the back finished (finally!) and I am a good way to finishing the front. I’m working on it a little bit every day.

TV show of the week: I have discovered Houdini and Doyle and have really been enjoying it.

Best moment: Watching the concealer and lipstick magically make a bruise disappear. It may seem shallow and vain, but beyond the improvement to my appearance I just find make up magical. It was like watching a magic trick.

Looking forward to: Not having to travel for a little while. I love getting out of town, but the car journey can get a little stressful.

I will leave you with this cuttie. Have a great weekend all!

I will leave you with this cuttie. Have a great weekend all!

Leave a Reply

