Healthy habits: Start the day with hot water and lemon

Yellow_lemons

This is a daily habit that I’ve re-introduced into my daily routine. I forgot how much I enjoyed it and the benefits it gives.

I drank hot water and lemon every morning for two years straight and all through my pregnancy with Willow. I only stopped after she was born because I found that the lemon and breastfeeding wasn’t gelling.

But now I’m recommitted and back to enjoying this drink daily. And here’s why you should too:

Lemons are packed with vitamin c, b-complex vitamins, calcium, iron, magnesium, potassium and fibre. Because the acidity can be hard on your teeth, you need to dilute the lemon juice to drink it. Any water temperature will do, but I find that warm to hot water makes a pleasant drink that I enjoy drinking.

Here are some benefits you get from drinking lemon water:

It boosts your immune system

This is due to the vitamin c, obviously. Vitamin C is vital for our immune systems but stores can be depleted by stress. Keeping up your vitamin c keeps you from getting ill.

It is a great source of potassium

Fun fact, lemons have more potassium in them than apples or grapes. Potassium is vital for heart health and healthy muscle.

It aids digestion

Lemons detoxify your system and help alleviate symptoms of indigestions such as bloating, burping and heartburn. I have also found that lemon water helps with constipation.

It cleanses your system

As I just mentioned lemons are natural detoxers. They enhance enzyme function, thereby stimulating your liver and help you flush toxins from your body.

It freshens your breath

It also helps with toothache and gingivitis! However because of the acidity either brush your teeth before your drink it or wait for 30 minutes until your brush.

It helps clear up your skin

This is thanks to the antioxidants in lemons. Drinking lemon water will decrease blemishes and wrinkles. And because you are detoxing your body your skin will be radiant (also you’re hydrating first thing in the morning which is great for the appearance of your skin.

It balances your body’s PH

This is important! Even though lemons are acidic they create an alkaline environment in the body. Acidity leads to inflammation and inflammation leads to diseases. Regular consumption will reduce inflammation.

It helps you lose weight

Lemons are full of pectin. This fibre reduces hunger cravings.

It will boost your energy

I find my lemon water wakes me up far more effectively in the morning than a cup of coffee. It also helps reduce anxiety and depression (who doesn’t feel happy when they smell lemons?) Added bonus: the scent of lemons is known to relieve nausea so it’s great for morning sickness (true story I used to keep a bottle of lemon essential oil in my hand back and sniff it whenever i felt sick in the early days of my pregnancy).

How to drink it:

I squeeze half a lemon into a mug, top that with a touch of boiling water then fill the mug with cold water. I also add a small squeeze of honey and a spoonful of coconut oil. Drink it 15 to 30 minutes before eating so your body can absorb the goodness.

*The amount of lemon you use depends on what you weigh: those under 150 pounds (68kg) only need half a lemon. Those over will need a whole lemon. When buying lemons i find the ones without any green spots tend to have the most juice.*

2 thoughts on “Healthy habits: Start the day with hot water and lemon

Leave a Reply

