Thursday Favs March 24

Willow's collection of dolls specially chosen to watch cartoons with her. She lined them all up on the couch

Willow’s collection of dolls specially chosen to watch cartoons with her. She lined them all up on the couch

Flat Tyres, Eye Infections and Easter Weekend. That pretty much sums up this week!

I have had not one but two flat tyres this week! Two! The first was on Tuesday, which was the first working day of the week thanks to a glorious long weekend we just enjoyed. This was the first flat tyre I’ve had in this car (A Ford Kuga – I think in the States it’s called an Escape? I don’t know.) Do you know what it means for a small woman to have a flat tyre on an SUV? I don’t even know where to find the jack!

The cause of my flat tyre!

The cause of my flat tyre!

This was the first flat tyre I’ve had in this car (A Ford Kuga – I think in the States it’s called an Escape? I don’t know.) Do you know what it means for a small woman to have a flat tyre on an SUV? I don’t even know where to find the jack!

Luckily when it happened I was quite close to a petrol station so I pulled over and before I had even explained to the attendant what the problem was he had everything under control. Luckily it was a simple puncture, which was quickly patched and the tyre refilled with air. All for the grand sum of R80!

Then on today, it happened again to the SAME tyre! This time, I was on my way to work and as luck would have it pulled over at the same petrol station. We changed the tyre this time and now I have to go to an actual tyre place and see what can be done for the poor thing.

Driving my computer mouse around the lounge like a car

Driving my computer mouse around the lounge like a car

Wednesday was grey, cold and miserable. And poor Willow woke up for the second day in a row with swollen red eyes glued shut with discharge. She’s had an annoying cold that just won’t quit for a few days now. Add eyes that are red, weepy and crusty and you have one worried mama. So I booked her in to see the doctor.

Turns out she has a sinus infection and a bacterial eye infection. She’s been put on a course of antibiotics which will hopefully clear everything up. But in the meantime, she can’t go to school. She’s currently home with A and I will take over at lunchtime.

Hope you all have a wonderful weekend!

In this family we drink tea. Also here are the adorable slippers!

In this family we drink tea. Also here are the adorable slippers!

Purchase of the week: I got Willow her first pair of slippers. It’s getting to cold for her to wander around in bare feet and I’m worried she slips on our tiled floors if she just wears socks. So slippers made a lot of sense. They are plush moccasins with little sticky pads on the bottoms and she squeaks when she walks. Cutest thing ever!

Project of the week: Still knitting that dratted baby jacket. It’s getting me down now. I will finish this thing this weekend!

TV show of the week: I finally got around to watching A Ballerina’s Tale. It’s a documentary on Netflix about Misty Copeland and it was fascinating. I really enjoyed it.

Best moment: Watching A turn a box into a ‘car’ and pushing Willow all around the kitchen in it. She thought it was the best thing ever! Such a huge smile on her face.

My favourite shot from a weekend away to Hartebeesport Dam with friends

My favourite shot from a weekend away to Hartebeesport Dam with friends

Looking forward to: A four day weekend spending time with the family! Last weekend was deliciously lazy and we’re hoping for more of the same.

Leave a Reply

