Adventures in making the Baby Sophisticate  

Baby Sophisticate

With my friend’s baby shower looming over my head I decided that I would make her newest addition a jersey as a gift.

I had recently been bitten by the knitting bug and baby jerseys are incredibly satisfying as they knit up quickly and easily. So after much internet searching I happened across this little gem called the Baby Sophisticate.

It is an incredibly cute jersey and didn’t look too hard – it was stocking stitch and garter stitch and the pattern said ‘Easy’. So I downloaded the pattern, bought some wool and started to knit.

From the very first stitch, this pattern challenged my skill. I’ll admit I’m not yet a pro knitter, but I’m not too bad and have quite a few projects under my belt. But this pattern threw techniques at me that I had never encountered before. From slipping the first stitch of every row (a minor stumbling block that I soon figured out) to short row knitting (I needed my mom’s help with this and it even took her a while to figure it out!) this jersey tested my skills.

I am incredibly proud to say I finished it. I am even prouder to say it looks great and I can’t wait to see it on an adorable baby!

I’m glad I chose to knit this one up and I’m glad that it was such a challenge as now I have learned things I will never forget! I would love to make another one as I found the knitting from the top down method to be quite fun. It’s incredible to see the jersey emerge like it’s growing off the needles. Very cool.

So here is the finished product (I want to shout ‘Tada!’). Not too shabby if I do say so myself.

Leave a Reply

