Our life in November

November was tough and yet the most fun month so far. I can’t believe that we’re at the end of the year already. How did it all go past so fast?

November was tough because Willow got so sick, then the whole family got so sick, then we had an intense heat wave, then Willow started teething, then we decided to sleep train…

I have learnt, in my short time as a mom, that if its not one thing then its the other. There always seems to be something going on in that needs to be endured, survived or overcome. So I have learnt to embrace it and enjoy the hell out of those perfect moments when they come along just as much as I enjoy the imperfect moments.

Willow is such a joy and I have to remind myself that she’s only 11 months old! She seems so much older and I can really see the type of child she will be. She is determined and stubborn, strong willed and adventurous, loving and studious, endlessly curious, ridiculously clever and has a wonderful sense of humour. Making her laugh has become my favourite thing ever. I realise that as her mom I’m incredibly biased, let me have my gushy moment!

Besides the challenges we faced in November we have had a great month. Watching our little one grow and develop, watching her relationships with people strengthen, marveling at how this has all happened so fast!

Here’s what we’ve been loving this month:

Food and Drink:

Cold fruit – Its been hot, hot, hot here lately and trying to keep a baby cool and comfortable is hard! Will has been getting to experience all the summer fruit at icy cold temps to try and help keep her cool. She loves grapes, strawberries, blueberries, watermelon and peaches. Also Fruit ice lollies are a win!

Woolies Pink Lemonade – This is the perfect summer drink. Its refreshing and sweet yet tart. I could drink a whole bottle on my own in no time!

Products:

Portable Airconditioner – We bit the bullet and bought a portable air con. As mentioned its been hot and our upstairs area has been unbearable. The aircon keeps things nice and cool. I don’t know how we lived without it?

Mouse toys – I got this idea from Clamber Club and when I saw the mice in a bag of variety cat toys I scooped them up. They make great baby toys! Small and easy to hold they have no moving parts so are safe for play and have a range of uses. We put them in bags, small boxes and other containers. They are great for teaching concepts like ‘in’, ‘out’, ‘up’, ‘down’, ‘underneath’, ‘on top’ and more. They are small enough to play hide and seek with the activity table, they squeak, they are fun to chew and they are great props for nursery rhymes like Hickory Dickory Dock and Three Blind Mice. Now to keep the cats way from them…

Activities:

Swimming – Swimming has been high on the agenda this month. Willow loves it and I love watching her experience it. She is fearless when it comes to the water and watching her learn how to handle going under water and what to do in the pool is an unforgettable experience. This one is a little fish and I’m pretty sure she’ll be a provincial swimmer just like her aunt.

Fashion:

I’ve redone my capsule wardrobe and am loving being back to a simple, paired down closet that is easy to work with. I have really been enjoying how it eliminates the stress of getting dressed and have felt no urge to shop lately. One of my most worn items at the moment are my frilled spaghetti strap tops which work so well with shorts and jeans/jeggings. I have a navy and white polka dot and a navy floral print which just go with everything. Plus they are light and comfortable.

For Willow I have been loving seeing her in rompers. She looks too cute in them and they are super easy to throw on and move around in. Our favourites are these two from Keedo, but she has also gotten a lot of wear out of these from Pick ‘n Pay.

 

 

Leave a Reply

