Eight Months of Willow

8 months old!

My baby is 8 months old! What?! It feels so surreal to say that.

I remember what it felt like this time last year kicking off my third trimester and getting very uncomfortable. Now I’m considering things like weaning and first birthday parties. Cannot deal!

This month with Willow has kicked my butt. I won’t sugar coat it – it has been tough and I feel a little dazed and confused at the moment. Sleep has fallen apart, she’s cranky and miserable a lot from being over tired and I have run out of things to try.

The reason for all this mayhem after everything was going so well, you ask? Well first off she got sick. Having never had a sick baby before I felt a bit like a chicken with my head cut off – I had no idea what to do, how to make her feel better; it was all a bit scary. My husband was an absolute rock again and did his best to help relieve some of the pressure even though he was sick himself.

The sickness messed up her routine and just as we were getting over it she started cutting teeth. Not one, oh no – my child is a super over achiever. We had the honour of the little thing cutting FOUR teeth. At once. It. Was. Hell. She got very grumpy and stopped sleeping again this weekend and I see another tooth has snuck in there. So we have five brand new teeth and miss grumpy pants must be working on its friend because it feels like she has been crying ALL day!

To top it all off we have hit the dreaded eight month sleep regression. So naps are out the window, night time sleep is in three hour shifts with an hour play time in between. No amount of rocking, nursing, singing or crying will get her back to sleep and she has this new thing now where she will only sleep in my arms and then cries when I put her in the crib.

I. Am. Exhausted!

So besides her first bout of illness this is what we’ve been up to this month:

• Started leopard crawling! She got up on her hands and knees for the first time on August 8 and started chasing her toys in a leopard crawl on August 17. She is now super mobile and there’s no holding her back. She will be cross crawling in no time!

• Started babbling! Her first word is officially mom and I couldn’t be more proud. She will repeat the word endlessly so its more like ‘momomomomom’ but still. Also its a very diverse word – it means dad, cat, food, garden, toys, groceries, car, the list is enormous. We’re working on getting her to say dad now.

• She finally cut her upper teeth! She cut all four at once as previously mentioned and I spotted the third bottom tooth on Saturday. No sign of its partner in crime but I have a really grumpy baby to prove its on its way…

• She fell off the bed for the first time. This is not something I am proud of and there were many tears and much crying (and that was just me!). She was in the centre of the bed and I turned around to pick up one of her toys and crash. It happened so fast! (how cliched but true.) She is fine now but at the time I felt like the worst mom in the world…

• Waves bye-bye. This is the cutest thing ever! She will wave her whole arm from shoulder to wrist whenever someone leaves the room. I just want to eat her up!

• Shakes her head no. We have got the shaking for no thing down pat. She will tell you no when she doesn’t want her nappy changed, when she’s had enough to eat, when she doesn’t want to play any more, when she doesn’t want to go to bed. I really need to get her to say yes now!

• Splashes in the bath when you tell her too. It really feels like she understands what the work splash means because whenever we say it she starts to splash frantically. It is very cute to watch and water goes everywhere!

• Unpacks her toy boxes. She has started to unpack the toy boxes. She will entertain herself for ages by taking a toy out of the toy box, inspecting it and then tossing it aside. She then goes back to the box to select another toy. I long for the day when we can put things back in the toy box…

• We’re started the baby proofing process. This feels like a completely insurmountable task. How does one do this? Where do you start? I feel completely overwhelmed.

She has a new fondness for stuffed animals

She has a new fondness for stuffed animals

Exploring the mirror in Clamber Club

Exploring the mirror in Clamber Club

Chilling out in her bouncer

Chilling out in her bouncer

Exploring staw in Clamber Club

Exploring staw in Clamber Club

Working on her crawling skills

Working on her crawling skills

In the throws of her sinus infection - a very miserable little girl

In the throws of her sinus infection – a very miserable little girl

Taking selfies

Taking selfies

First ice lolly - it helped to relieve the teething pain

First ice lolly – it helped to relieve the teething pain

New toys are the best!

New toys are the best!

20150824_094302

Showing off her summer hat

Showing off her summer hat

Flamingoes on my pants make for the best days

Flamingoes on my pants make for the best days

Cool dude

Cool dude

More selfie taking and almost matching outfits

More selfie taking and almost matching outfits

Working on my crawling skills v2.0

Working on my crawling skills v2.0

Nomming on biltong trying to get those darn teeth out

Nomming on biltong trying to get those darn teeth out

Reading a book (this child loves books!)

Reading a book (this child loves books!)

Happy baby!!!

Happy baby!!!

4 thoughts on “Eight Months of Willow

  1. makingababyv says:

    How scary with the falling off the bed! Clara has almost tumbled off the couch a few times. She waves bye bye with her while arm too. I’m happy her first word was mom! Still working on that here. I think so far when she babbles “nanananana” she means me, but I could also be “ahhh” and a variety of other sounds. 🙂

Leave a Reply

