Day 12 – Your Favourite Childhood Book

I couldn’t narrow this down to just three. Reading has always been a huge part of my life starting with having story time with my mom and sisters when we were too young to read and then graduating onto books I read myself. Reading to Willow is something I really enjoy and I hope she has a love for books when she grows up.

I don’t have the actual copies of these books here in Joburg with me – they are all at my mom’s house waiting for when Willow is old enough for them.

JUSTSO01

First up I have chosen the Just So Stories by Rudyard Kipling. With three children in the house my mom let us each have a turn to pick the story we would be read at night before bed. My sisters loved Dr Seuss but I would always choose something from the Just So Stories. They were my favourite. So much so that as a congratulations gift on my pregnancy my mom gave me my own copy of Just So Stories to read to Willow.\

smith-the-magic-faraway-tree

When I got older I was introduced to The Magic Faraway Tree by Enid Blyton. My aunt used to be an English teacher and she bought me the series (for a birthday I think) Anyway, I loved the stories of adventure and I especially loved Moon Face – he was my favourite character.

download

Finally since I enjoyed the Enid Blyton books so much my mom got me the Mallory Towers series which I loved. I used to stay up late into the night reading them. Something about the setting – an incredible boarding school in England – and the characters really appealed to me.

What were your favourite books as a child?

Leave a Reply

