Making Baby Food

I decided back when I was still pregnant that I would make all of Willow’s food myself.

There were a few reasons for this. Firstly have you ever read the ingredients list on a tub of baby food? Why do you need so many ingredients in apple sauce? Secondly they are really expensive! And thirdly I didn’t think it required all that much effort and I would then know exactly what was in there – apples!

So Hubby and I invested in a bullet type blender and I got some freezer safe storage pots. I also got a couple of books on baby weaning and baby food recipes. We then got cracking on putting together Willow’s first tastes.

Making the food was really easy. We selected a variety of veggies based on the books recommendations – carrots, sweet potato, baby marrow (courgettes or zucchini depending on where you’re from), broccoli, parsnip and gem squash. I also throw some avocado into the mix, but it doesn’t require cooking.

So here’s what I do:

Get your ingredients ready!

Get your ingredients ready!

First step – peel and chop up the veggies.

Cook by steaming or boiling your veggies

Cook by steaming or boiling your veggies

Second step – steam or boil them until they are really soft.

Our Swan blender hard at work

Our Swan blender hard at work

Third step – Place the veggies (single flavours or combos) into the blender cup and blitz until you get the consistency you want. For young babies (5 to 6 months) you want the consistency of runny honey (although Willow prefers it to be a little thicker), for bigger babies you want to leave small chunks in there so they can practice chewing.)

Freezable and dishwasher safe food pots

Freezable and dishwasher safe food pots – ours are from Nuk and Snookums.

Fourth step – decant into food pots or silicone ice trays and pop in the freezer until you’re ready to use the,

And that’s it! It really is that simple. One afternoon sees me making a huge stock pile of different flavours which I put into the storage pots and pop in the freezer. I also tried the ice cube method – I divided the puree up in silicone ice trays and froze them. Then I popped the food cubes out and put them in a Ziplock baggy.

So far Willow really likes:

Split lentils, butternut and tomato

Red lentils with butternut, tomato and a hint of orange, Sweet potato and baby spinach with a little cheddar and milk, carrots and parsnips with a hint of cinnamon.

Oats, banana and all spice

She wasn’t so keen on the leek and potato, but I will try again a little later.

If you’re interested in full recipes I highly recommend Ella’s Kitchen The Purple One and Annabel Karmel’s 100 Meals for Toddlers and Babies.

 

Leave a Reply

