Five months of Willow

5 Months Old!

Again a whole month has passed with no posts from me which is indicative, I think, of how busy we’ve been.

I made the leap to resign from my job and become a full time mom, although I am exploring options at the moment that will allow me to work from home which I am very excited about.

My days have become a bit of a blur of playing with Willow, stimulating her and watching her blossom and then trying to find a little bit of time for me. I have made the decision to do something every day that’s just for me. I really miss being able to sit down and write so I have made it a goal to do a bit of writing every day.

I have also started knitting again! For those who don’t know I am one of those crafty individuals. I love arts and crafts but especially love knitting and crochet. My mom and dad where here for a whole week in May and While mom was here and I had an extra set of hands to help out I pinched one of her patterns and a set of needles and set about making Miss Monkey a jersey. Ambitious I know, but I’m about half way done with the back and I am making it in 6 to 12 months so I figured at least I have some time to get it done.

Luckily naps are becoming longer and more regular and Willow is getting good at playing by herself for short periods of time so that helps me to indulge in a bit of mom time…

Now onto what you really came here to read about. How is Willow doing? Well here’s a rundown of her month:

  • The biggest event in our lives right now is teething. All the teething symptoms we’ve been going through have finally come to fruition when Willow’s right lower incisor broke through on the 25th of May! It went off without a hitch. She was drooling more than usual and had a bit of a runny tummy and sore bum, but that was it. One day there was no tooth then the next day there it was! She was much grumpier leading up to her second tooth breaking through – which happened on May 30. She didn’t sleep well and she had a very upset stomach. Now that both are through I hope life will return to normal.
  • Rolling over is a big thing for Willow at the moment and the challenge for me has become keeping her on her tummy during tummy time because she will just flip right over. She also thinks it’s hilarious and will give me a huge gummy smile (I will miss those!) and a chuckle.
  • She has also started sitting. Mind you she can’t pull herself into a seated position on her own, but when I put her in my lap she kept pulling herself forward. So one day I put her on the floor in that position and she put her hands on the floor and kept herself up for ages. She is also really proud of being able to do it too! She has balance issues so after a while she will topple over. But it’s really cute to watch her sitting and checking out the scene.
  • Because of the teething and rolling over we have gone through a bit of a sleep regression. Apparently this is common when babies learn a new skill. She wouldn’t settle down for the night for ages past her bedtime and then would wake up every two hours and demand a feed. So I spent much of May in an exhausted daze. We seem to be settling down now. I have dropped her 8pm cluster feed (I pick her up, cuddle her and then lay her down again). This seems to have helped a bit, but I will need more time to be sure.
  • According to my scale at home Willow is just over 7 kilograms. And my mom and I measured her to be 68cm tall. That puts her in the 50th percentile for weight and the 90th for height according to the Baby Centre tool I found online. I know this is not according to my doctor’s instruments, but we will only see him again when Willow is 6 months old and I was curious. It will be interesting to compare the measurements next month.
Please note the tooth in that adorable smile!

Please note the tooth in that adorable smile!

Making a new friend

Chomping down on her stage 1 tooth brush now that her teeth have arrived

Chomping down on her stage 1 tooth brush now that her teeth have arrived

Napping in the car Getting so big!

The high chair is a real winner

The high chair is a real winner

The final gummy smile! Her teeth broke through shortly after this picture was taken

The final gummy smile! Her teeth broke through shortly after this picture was taken

IMG_3686

Sitting unsupported for the first time

Sitting unsupported for the first time

Taking a nap on dad's lap

Taking a nap on dad’s lap

Baby cuddles

We spent our first Mothers' Day at home - Hubby made an incredible lunch and his mom and aunt came for a visit. It was just what the doctor ordered.

We spent our first Mothers’ Day at home – Hubby made an incredible lunch and his mom and aunt came for a visit. It was just what the doctor ordered.

Well that’s all I have for you at the moment. Willow loves toys that make noises and loves to sing and talk so she’s a very loud, audio driven baby. She’s also very busy which is wonderful!

One thought on “Five months of Willow

Leave a Reply

