Update: 3 Weeks Postpartum

Sorry for being so quiet lately, but my little angel went through a major growth spurt at three weeks and I was basically attached to her by the boob until it was over.

She would feed ever hour on the hour no matter what time she finished her last feed. Sleep was also hard to come by for both of us. It was a tough time physically and emotionally because all the extra calories I needed meant I was hungry all the time and not sleeping made me very grumpy. Having a baby who never seems satisfied and is always fractious is hard. I can only imagine how Willow felt through all this but I’m guessing it wasn’t fun for either.

But the good news is we survived and Willow put on a whopping 500 grams!

How did we get through? Well, my life saver was learning to feed lying down. Then I would bring the baby into the bed with me latch her on and take a bit of a cat nap. It was a huge help!

Week four was a little better. The ferocious appetite hung around. Its was the inspiration for Willow’s nickname: Willowsaurus. When she feeds she makes these growly sounds that are really cute.

What I really loved is that she seemed to wake up to the world around her. All of a sudden we got longer awake periods, she started making eye contact and has taken a small interest in toys. She also recognizes voices and moves her head to see who’s talking!

She’s also practising her smile. The little muscles will pull her mouth to funny angles. I’m sure the smiles are coming any day now!

Baby

Weighs: 3.9kg after her growth spurt!

Measures: 52cm in length – We won’t get a new length measurement until our six week appointment

Sleep: Sleep during the growth spurt was a little harder than what we were used to. Day time naps got a lot shorter and she would wake up more during the night.

Eats: We are still exclusively breastfeeding although we had an incident where I ate something that disagreed with her and we needed to supplement with a little bit of formula that night. But she went back to the breast with no issues. She loves her food this one!

Loves: to be held, food, naps on the couch with her dad, going to the shops and getting pushed around in her pram and car rides

Mom

Recovery: I am fully healed from the labour and delivery! It didn’t take nearly as long as I thought it would…

Weight: I haven’t been able to weigh myself recently so I’m still going to say we’re at a 10kg weight loss. I’m not any any rush to lose the weight and am still eating a lot to keep up with the breastfeeding demands.

Breastfeeding: We’re doing really well. I don’t experience any pain any more unless Miss Monkey uses me as a dummy (pacifier) the non-nutritive sucking can leave me feeling quite sore, but the actual feeding is a dream.

Making a new friend! We introduced Willow to one of my besties' son and he was enchanted

Making a new friend! We introduced Willow to one of my besties’ son and he was enchanted

Making a new friend! We introduced Willow to one of my besties' son and he was enchanted

Making a new friend! We introduced Willow to one of my besties’ son and he was enchanted

Getting your photo taken is exhausting!

Getting your photo taken is exhausting!

So much more alert this week

So much more alert this week

Practising her smiles in her sleep (same outfit but this was taken on a different day...

Practising her smiles in her sleep (same outfit but this was taken on a different day…

Leave a Reply

