Pregnancy Update: Week 34

Week 34 was a good one. We have been very busy and I feel run off my feet, but ultimately happy and looking forward to some down time soon.

Last weekend was full of surprises with my parents coming down to visit and my mom and friends hosting a surprise baby shower. It was such a lovely afternoon. We drank tea, ate cake and the baby and I got presents. I’ve got a full post on the shower and what we got coming up this week.

Monday was full and busy at work and then on Tuesday we had a very interesting doctor’s appointment. It was great to see the baby is growing so well and she is getting ready to make her grand entrance in the world. You can read all about it here [link].

Then on Wednesday my colleagues at work surprised me with a baby shower. I was really touched and we were so spoiled again. I’m in such a good place right now for this little one to make her appearance. We’re all ready for her now. I obviously want her to stay put and mature as long as possible, but it’s a relief to know we’re ready. I have a post on the shower coming soon.

Wednesday was also our year end function at work so in comparison Thursday and Friday felt a bit dull. I filled my time doing chores. I have washed all her clothes and blankets and have started to organise the nursery.

In terms of how I’m doing it’s all business as usual. I get tired easily, my feet are swelling like crazy in this heat, and I feel very big and heavy. I have been trying to swim more and that definitely helps. I had an hour long swim the other day. The water was amazing and the feeling of being weightless was worth its weight in gold!

Also nesting has started with a vengeance. I have been organising the nursery, washing clothes and blankets, trying to get all my ducks in a row. My husband finds this endlessly amusing.

How far along? 34 weeks

Baby is the size of a: Honeydew melon

Total weight gain/measurements: We were at 70kg at my last doctor’s appointment

Stretch marks: Nothing yet

Best moment this week: Definitely getting spoiled at my baby shower

Miss anything? Walking without a waddle and being able to see my toes.

Movement: She’s a regular little yogi

Food cravings: Back to craving fruit and weirdly bacon…

Anything making you queasy or sick? Nope

Gender: A little girl

Symptoms: I had very swollen feet and hands recently but it has been very hot, which doesn’t help. I’m also feeling a lot more pressure from the baby and my Braxton Hicks contractions are coming more often and feel more uncomfortable

Belly button in or out? Out

Wedding rings on or off? I have finally given in and taken them off completely…

Happy or moody most of the time: Mostly happy

Exercise: I had a great swim and a good long walk. I definitely feel myself slowing down, but I try to keep moving as much as possible.

Looking forward to: Finishing up this week at work. Its my last week before my annual leave and maternity leave kicks in

 

Leave a Reply

