My Birth Plan

I have always believed in a pretty flexible birth plan.

A lot of what I want to do is more centred around post birth and not the actual giving birth process, but after the birthing class we went to I have refined my wants a bit more.

So I thought I would right a bit about my rough birth plan.

I don’t think that women should get too hung up on birth plans. We never really know what is going to happen in the delivery room and I don’t want to feel guilt or distress because it is not going according to plan, after all the ultimate goal is a healthy outcome for mom and baby.

To this end my birth plan looks a little like this:

Labour and delivery

  • I would like to avoid induction unless absolutely necessary and I definitely do not want Pitocin, so anything we can do to avoid that would be optimal.
  • I would like to try natural birth and would to see how far I can go without pain medication. That said I am not opposed to the epidural.
  • I would like the option to move around and find the best birth position for me – this is a major motivation for not wanting the epidural for as long as I can stand it.
  • In the event of a C-section (at this point it would be considered emergency as we have not elected to do a C-section) I would like to wait as long as possible. An emergency in the delivery room aside, we run the risk that the baby may be too big to deliver naturally. In this event I want to wait until as close to 40 weeks as possible before doing the ceasar.

Post delivery

  • I want to do skin to skin as soon as possible after birth
  • In the event that I can’t do skin to skin, I want my husband to do it.
  • I would like to have the baby latch naturally post birth – but barring that I would like to feed her within an hour of delivery.
  • I would like to donate stem cells from the cord blood.

So there you have it. All pretty simple in the grand scheme of things, but these are the points I feel the most strongly about.

One thought on “My Birth Plan

  1. Jenny says:

    Great Blog! Congrats on your pregnancy! I have 2 little girls myself…I wanted to introduce myself. I started “mommy blogging” a few months ago…My favorite routine to get my energy back are yogurt facials, running in the morning, my favorite “preggy” bars which were a huge part of my healthy pregnancy diet plan that I buy at sprouts or online and post preg as well, lots of Kumbucha, chia and yoga…I love blogs to and Instagram. Ok look forward to more blogs. Thanks Jenny….

Leave a Reply

