Pregnancy Update: Week 31

Wow, watching these weeks tick by is both an incredibly exciting and anxiety-ridden experience.

It’s amazing to think that we’re just a mere eight weeks from our due date. This point of the pregnancy felt so far away back in May when we found out we’re expecting. Now November is nearly gone and we’re so close to the end result.

This week felt really tough. The third trimester is more difficult than I anticipated, and coupled with end of year fatigue, a huge work load and pressure to meet those final targets I’m feeling more than a little drained and exhausted.

In South Africa, for my overseas readers, we start the year in January and end it in December. Our long school holidays start somewhere around the end of November when the exams are finished and all the factories and many business close for the holidays around the 16th. So we’re all off for Christmas and New Years and can enjoy the heat and beach.

This year has felt particularly long and trying. It has been a good year filled with many incredible experiences and a lot of hard work and personal growth. But it has also been a hard, emotional rollercoaster with more challenges than I have ever experienced.

I’m incredibly grateful for everything I’ve been through this year, but I’m ready for that break now.

How far along? 31 weeks

Baby is the size of a: Large Jicama, whatever that is…

Total weight gain/measurements: We’re going with 67kg at my last doctor’s appointment

Stretch marks: No stretch marks, but my veins on my stomach are getting very prominent and the skin is starting to look stretched and shiny.

Best moment this week: The doctor’s appointment. I love seeing the baby. It’s one of my favourite parts

Miss anything? Lying on my back. Some days that’s all I want to do.

Movement: She’s running out of space now. I get a lot of stretching. Sometimes its borderline painful and quite uncomfortable. She has very sharp little elbows and knees.

Food cravings: I want fruit and ice cream, all the time

Anything making you queasy or sick? Nope

Gender: A little girl

Symptoms: Getting up and down is getting really difficult, as is getting in and out of the car. I hate dropping things. I have to weigh how important it is to pick it up right away. Other than that the usual.

Belly button in or out? Poking out just a bit

Wedding rings on or off? I’m wearing only one, but on very hot days I take it off.

Happy or moody most of the time: Mostly happy

Exercise: Last week was bad for exercise. I will be better this week.

Looking forward to: Getting the painting in the nursery finished and for the furniture to arrive!

20141105_091003

 

Leave a Reply

