Nursery update

Before we got started painting

Before we got started painting

Before we got started painting

Before we got started painting

Before we got started painting

Before we got started painting

So as mentioned in my weekly update we have finally gotten work done on the nursery. And it is starting to look fabulous.

I had a plan for the nursery right from the start. I’m not much of a fan of overly kitsch nurseries. I don’t see why girls need to be surrounded in a sea of pink and frills and boys relegated to blue and cars.

When I found out I was pregnant I started dreaming of a beautiful gender neutral nursery. The colour scheme was going to be navy and grey no matter whether it was a boy or a girl. If we were blessed with a girl then I was going to accent with baby pink and if a little man was coming into our family then I would accent with baby blue.

I have pretty much stuck to this plan.

The first order of business in getting the nursery set up was to clear out the room we were going to use and order the furniture. I did this last month. Now the only stuff in that room all belong to the baby. The cupboards are slowly filling up with cloths, toys, baby monitors and more.

On the weekend Hubby and I recruited the help of a friend to come over and paint.

Work in progress

Work in progress

For the main part of the room we went with Plascon’s Plaster. This is the same colour the majority of our house is painted. It’s a beautiful soft grey that looks different in different lights. It’s my favourite paint colour.

For the feature wall I chose a colour called Moody Blue which is a deep rich Navy with a slight purple undertone. I looks gorgeous with the grey.

We will be painted a mural of trees on the wall. I have a friend who is an artist and have already booked her services to help me. The trees will be white against the navy and I will have pink birds flying from branch to branch. I have also bought gorgeous gold dragonfly decals which will give a 3D effect and tie in with the silver ceiling fan and brushed metal curtain rail and tie backs.

We also hung the curtains this weekend. The rail and tie backs I chose are a brushed brass colour and have what they call trumpet ends. But to make it a bit more special and girly the ends have diamante details on them which are very subtle, but add just a little something extra.

And after; ready for the trees to be painted

And after; ready for the trees to be painted

After

After

And after; ready for the trees to be painted

And after; ready for the trees to be painted

After

After

I can’t wait for this room to be finished! I’m really excited to see the finished product.

Leave a Reply

