Pregnancy Update: Week 27

So Week 27 was…interesting. Not much happened on the pregnancy front, but the week started off badly and just kept getting worse from there.

It also seemed like everyone was having a bad week – it was a karmic vortex of crap that kept piling up until we were all grumpy, fractious and just downright miserable.

On Sunday our car decided to break down. So I spent Monday juggling work and trying to get the vehicle to the garage, fetching and carrying Hubby to and from work and the garage… I found it very stressful.

Well, the car is still at the garage, and will probably be there until Friday (at least in my opinion. Hubby is more optimistic that we’ll get it back this week. I’m not so sure. Especially when the mechanics tell you that the engine is more complicated than they anticipated. What does that even mean!?)

Tuesday started off with being called into the boss’ office and about a million more things getting added to my to-do list. Wednesday was not much better. Thursday I started seeing the light at the end of the tunnel. The day passed really slowly because I had Friday off, but it was really the turning point in my week.

Friday was busy, but great. I had the day off, I had a doctor’s appointment (I will do a separate post on what happened), I got my voucher for our 4D scan, I got my new driver’s license (At last!) I finally sent my iPad in to get the screen repaired and then I got to go do some shopping for me and baby.

The rest of the weekend followed in similar vein. My In-Laws spent Friday night with us (They were kind enough to let us use their car while they were on business in Cape Town during the week and they came to pick it up.)

So on Saturday we went out for breakfast and a bit of shopping – I finally got my nappy bag and a few more spoils! (haul coming soon!). Then Hubby and I went to Builder’s Warehouse to get the paint and curtain rails so we could paint the nursery and hang the curtains. The rest of Saturday was spent in thus. I didn’t actually do any painting. Rather I napped while Hubby and my sister’s boyfriend painted. They did such an amazing job. I’m so happy with how it turned out!

So that’s Phase Two of the nursery complete (Phase One was clearing it out). Phase three will be painting the mural which my friend is going to help me with in about three weeks’ time. It’s looking so good I can’t wait for it to be finished and for the furniture to arrive!

How far along? 27 weeks

Baby is the size of an: Eggplant!

Total weight gain/measurements: So I went to the doctor and got measured. I’m at 64kg and the belly is measuring 94cm around. Getting so big!

Stretch marks: Still nothing. Still applying cream like crazy

Best moment this week: All this happened on the weekend so going to the doctor and seeing the Monkey, painting the nursery and buying baby clothes.

Miss anything? Having a firm grip on my emotions – which is apparently a magnesium deficiency. So I’ve been given a prescription and hopefully I stabilise soon.

Movement: I got such a fright this week because I thought she had stopped moving, but she has turned so the movements feel very different. She’s doing well and still moving like crazy, I just had to learn what to feel for again. But she’s doing great with the kick counts so all good.

Food cravings: This week it has been all about watermelon. Sooo Good!

Anything making you queasy or sick? Nope 🙂

Gender: A girl

Symptoms: Getting tired and out of breath easily

Belly button in or out? In but shallow

Wedding rings on or off? On, but I’m only wearing one and I’ve put my engagement ring away. My fingers swell in the heat.

Happy or moody most of the time: Mostly happy

Exercise: Two strength sessions and a walk! Feel really happy about this

Looking forward to: My birthday tomorrow and our 4D scan! Also I think we’re going to a friend’s house on Saturday so that’s going to be awesome.

 

27

One thought on “Pregnancy Update: Week 27

  1. Liz says:

    Hi there,
    Enjoyed the update at always, you write do well.
    Remember they offered a car last week maybe Ansel can contact the lady and see if the offer still stands and you can use it this week until the CC is fixed?
    Lol. Xx

Leave a Reply

