Pregnancy Update: Week 25

September has come and gone, South Africa is well in the swing of summer and it’s my birthday month! So much exciting stuff happening.

This last week was pretty awesome. My work week was quite quiet, the weather was a bit on the cooler side and very pleasant and we had rain at last so the city is starting to look all green and lush and beautiful. I love this time of year, the trees look beautiful, the sun is still soft and there is the most amazing gentle breeze to be felt wherever you go. October is my favourite time of the year.

One really exciting thing we did last week was our hospital tour. Wednesday was a public holiday so we took advantage of having a free morning mid-week to jump on that band wagon. The hospital where I’m having the baby does the tour every Wednesday at 10am – which is kind inconvenient for those of us who have to work.

It wasn’t anything to exciting, afterall a hospital is a hospital. But it did so much to put me at ease. I now know exactly where we have to go, what we have to do, what the general processes are like. We got to see what the rooms in the maternity ward look like, what the labour ward looks like, where the theatre is.

Also what I loved is the general attitude of the nursing staff and midwives in the hospital. They fall in line with so many things I want to do with regards to my birth plan and that made me ridiculously happy. It’s awesome to know that the support you need is already there and waiting.

Once we finished the tour and had some lunch I managed to convince Hubby to go with me to a few baby stores. I’m desperate to order our nursery furniture and I’m on a mission to see what my options are. So we went off to the ones that were still open and had a good look around.

The good news is we have decided on a pram! I’m pretty stoked about the one we’ve chosen, but we won’t buy it yet. The sales consultant said that we should wait for the Baby Expo coming at the end of November as it will probably be on special then. But it’s a travel system with a Group 0+ capsule and isofix base included which makes me very happy.

In terms of the nursery furniture I have the hard task of deciding what look I want and what will last the best for us. I have been thinking hard about this, and I have a really good idea of which one I’m going to go for. I’ll put up photos when I’ve made my decision.

How far along? 25 weeks

Baby is the size of a: Cauliflower!

Total weight gain/measurements: No weight update this week. I’m still doing my best to eat healthy and exercise.

Stretch marks: No but I do have quite a few veins that are visible on my belly now

Best moment this week: Deciding on what pram to buy. Finally feels like we’re starting to get ready!

Miss anything? Nope I have been very content this week.

Movement: kicks, punchs, rolls, we’ve been getting very acrobatic

Food cravings: Unfortunately all I want is chocolate and frozen yogurt…

Anything making you queasy or sick? Nope 🙂

Gender: A girl

Symptoms: I get tired so much quicker, but other than that I’ve been having the usual pregnancy symptoms. I’m really enjoying my second trimester

Belly button in or out? In but shallow

Wedding rings on or off? On for now

Happy or moody most of the time: Happy although I do have some mood swings. I’m not perfect….

Exercise: This week I started out with the best of intentions, but I wasn’t great unless you count climbing stairs and walking around at the hospital and walking around the shops. I did manage a strength session.

Looking forward to: Another round of nursery shopping on the weekend. I will have made a decision and hopefully placed and order by Sunday. I am determined!

 

Here we are at week 25. I'm starting to look like I'm smuggling a beach ball beneath my clothes

Here we are at week 25. I’m starting to look like I’m smuggling a beach ball beneath my clothes

 

 

One thought on “Pregnancy Update: Week 25

  1. millysell says:

    Ah look at that lovely bump … and choosing a pram IS a big deal! We spent forever on it. Worth taking the time though, because it’s getting a lot of use now 🙂

Leave a Reply

