Pregnancy Update: Week 24

Wow, we’re in the last week of September already! Where is this year going?

This last week both felt like it flew past and dragged on. We had our big anatomy scan to look forward to but it felt like getting there took forever!

On a whole the week was good. I have made a habit of turning the lights out at 9pm. It seems early, but going beyond that I just can’t keep my eyes open anymore and I practically pass out. If I push it too much the next day is so hard because I feel really drained. Ok body, I hear you early nights it is.

Other than that hubby and I have taken walks, watched tv and spent quality time on the couch, cuddled with the cats and just enjoyed spending time with our little family. We’re excited for when the Monkey will be here in person to play with and talk about her often.

This weekend was a rare one where we had no plans and got to spend the time catching up on errands around the house. Big news is we have finally started working on the baby room and by working on I mean that I have started clearing out the junk. Hopefully we will one day finish this room. I feel like it will never happen at the moment…

How far along? 24 weeks

Baby is the size of a: Cauliflower!

Total weight gain/measurements: I’m currently at 62kg on the nose. I’m really, really happy with this.

Maternity clothes: I am still very happy with my capsule wardrobe. It is working out so well. Seriously how have I not done this before?

Stretch marks: Nope and the doctor who did my last scan says she doesn’t think I have the skin type that will develop stretch marks. Don’t know if I believe her, but that’s pretty cool to hear.

Best moment this week: Seeing the baby’s face. What an incredible experience!

Miss anything? This has been a good week so not much is on the radar. Although with all this hot weather a big plate of sushi and glass of ice cold wine sounds heavenly…

Movement: I have a really active little girl on my hands. It’s really exciting to watch my stomach move from the outside

Food cravings: I had an intense craving for sweet and sour chicken. We had it and it was glorious

Anything making you queasy or sick? Nope 🙂

Gender: Definitely a girl

Symptoms: I have been getting burning eyes lately. Not sure if it’s from not sleeping well, or something else, but it’s annoying. Also the tiredness is creeping back in…

Belly button in or out? In but shallow

Wedding rings on or off? On, but I’m only wearing one and I’ve put my engagement ring away. My fingers swell in the heat.

Happy or moody most of the time: Definitely happy

Exercise: Hubby has been walking with me and I did a strength session. So I’m writing this up as a good week.

Looking forward to:  Next week Wednesday is a public holiday in South Africa so I’m looking forward to having a midweek day off. I’m pretty sure we’ll work on the baby’s room.

24 (1) 24 (2)

 

One thought on “Pregnancy Update: Week 24

Leave a Reply

