Pregnancy Update: Week 23

Well, here we are in week 23. I feel like time is just flying by now. It’s a little crazy for me. My third trimester is getting closer and closer!

This week was a good one. I was very busy at work and that left me a little tired and listless in the evenings, but being productive makes me feel good mentally – so I didn’t mind too much.

I read about four books in the last week. I’ve been bitten by the bug and I figure that I need to get the reading done now before the baby comes as I feel reading time will be very thin on the ground.

Even though the week was busy it felt very same old, same old. We had a great weekend though. The weather has been brilliantly hot and I took advantage of that and the fact that I seem to be incapable of sleeping past 7am these days to go for a long walk on Saturday. It was awesome. The neighbourhood was really quiet, the birds are all out, the flowers are putting on a brilliant show. It also felt so good to feel the sun on my arms and legs.

After I got home and managed to drag Hubby out of bed we went out for a nice lunch, did some shopping for friends birthday presents (August/September is a really busy birthday month for us).

We then went to Pretoria to see said friends and have a pizza evening. It was great, lots of catching up and laughter and playing with babies and general awesomeness. We’ve all been really busy lately and haven’t had as much get-together time as usual, so there was a lot of talking!

Then Sunday we chilled. I read and napped and cuddled with my cat – who is incredibly clingy at the moment and has turned into my little shadow. He follows me around all the time. It’s very sweet.

And that’s it really. We have our Anatomy scan this week and I’m really looking forward to it. It’s on Thursday so I will probably had a really wordy post and some new photos of the Monkey on Friday.

How far along? 23 weeks

Baby is the size of a: One site says cantaloupe and the other says large mango….

Total weight gain/measurements: I forgot to measure this week, but we are definitely bigger.

Maternity clothes: I’m still wearing a mix of items and am finding this so much easier to do in the warm weather than it was in the cold.

Stretch marks: Nope, none that I can see.

Best moment this week: The Pizza evening with friends and feeling the Monkey wiggling about even more. She’s started playing games with us now and Hubby and I spent a good hour on Sunday morning playing “In-the-womb-hide-and-seek” It was a lot of fun.

Miss anything? Right now I would give anything for a complete night of sleep.

Movement: I’m starting to identify body parts now. Last night while lying in the couch I’m determined she was sticking her bum out at us. Well, it was that or her head…

Food cravings: Ahh the sweet craving is back! Ice cream, puddings, gummy sweets. I want it all. And for some reason Milk, I have really been enjoying my milk – which is weird, because I don’t like milk…

Anything making you queasy or sick? Nope 🙂

Gender: A girl!

Symptoms: Lots of movement, general tiredness, stuffy nose, mild swelling and back pain at the end of the day, occasional hot flushes which lead to feeling lightheaded. In other words the usual.

Belly button in or out? In, but getting really shallow.

Wedding rings on or off? On for now

Happy or moody most of the time: I’m very happy right now

Exercise: I wasn’t great on the exercise front, but I did get in some strength and then the aforementioned epic walk. This week Hubby’s walking with me. So I will get more.

Looking forward to: Going to the doctor and seeing the baby

23 weeks

Leave a Reply

