Fashion Friday: Creating my Maternity Capsule Wardobe

Spring/Summer Capsule Wardrobe

While scratching through my wardrobe desperately searching for something to wear the other day I had a mini-meltdown (pregnancy hormones, whatcha gonna do?) and decided that something had to be done.

I have always been a fan of simple, mix and match style that is easy to wear and makes me feel good. But somewhere over the years I have fallen off the bus. My wardrobe is overstuffed with clothes I never wear and items that get shoved to the back and don’t see the light of day. I hang onto stuff way longer than I need to and I’m really not getting the best out of my clothes. Plus my shopping habit has gotten way out of control.

The while browsing through blogs I stumbled upon un-fancy.com. It was a revelation; such simple elegance, so many useful tips – I couldn’t get enough. Caroline is a firm believer in the minimalist capsule wardrobe. Her basic concept is that you plan a wardrobe that you love, shop seasonally and wear everything. I love the idea.

So off I rushed home and promptly began going through all my clothes. And I was ruthless. I printed the wardrobe planner out, I filled it in and I really thought hard about what I wanted and would wear. Plus I had the pregnancy to think about. Really, there is no better time to get used to a capsule wardrobe than when you’re pregnant. You are already quite limited in what you can wear due to your ever expanding girth and you don’t want to buy too much because you’ll only wear it for a short time. This is perfectly inline with seasonal shopping.

Caroline works off 37 pieces and I am really proud to have brow beaten mine down to 45! (Why is it so difficult to let go of clothes?) I am going in for a second cull this week, now that the dust has settled a bit. I really want to get to the point where I have a rule of three concept going. Three of everything – one casual, one dressy and one in between. I think that will lend to the most versatility.

I also identified areas where I was lacking a few items. As it happened this was in the shoes and accessories department.

I have a bit of a shoe fetish, but have curbed my shoe buying habits so much that the only ones I have are well worn. I have created a list of what still works and what needs replacing and will set about getting what I need. I’m hoping to be able to live with what I have… At least for this season.

I have bought three statement necklaces though. I feel they will work well with what I own and will add a bit of pizzazz to my ensembles. I’m excited by what I’ve created and think it will work very well with maternity and then life with a young child.

One thought on “Fashion Friday: Creating my Maternity Capsule Wardobe

  1. Dianne says:

    I love this minimalistic approach to your wardrobe! I might have to do some editing myself after this, LOL. I was VERY conservative in buying maternity clothes bc the good quality ones are EXPENSIVE for having such a short shelf life. I’d rather save my “clothing allowance” for post-maternity pieces, maybe to rebuild my wardrobe with a minimalistic approach like the blogger you just introduced me to. I only bought 3 pants for work, 2 pants for home, & a few maxi dresses to get me by — the rest of my wardrobe these past few months have just been fitted, stretchy t-shirts. Kind of bored with it now, but I’m glad it’s almost over for me. Can’t wait to see what outfits you put together!

Leave a Reply

