A look back at our holiday

I’ve been so busy in the last week I almost forgot to put up this post on our holiday! Oh well, rather late than never I suppose.

As I’ve probably mentioned a hundred times last week we headed home to the Lowveld for a very well deserved break.

We had to pick up some family from the airport on Sunday before starting our four hour car drive. I don’t mind the distances – we do a drive like this about once a month to visit our families – but they’re starting to get a tad difficult. I think that the end of my travelling days will come in October because getting in and out of the car can be a trial.

We arrived at my parents-in-law’s house where we were spending the night and we had a big family dinner. It was the first time many of the family had seen me since finding out I’m pregnant as well as it being the week of wedding build up for Hubby’s cousin so there was a lot of celebrating.

The next morning we headed off to the bush. We spent the week at Djuma Private Bush Lodge in the Sabie Sand Reserve. This reserve is internationally famous for its leopards and we had some incredible sightings. If you’re planning a trip to sunny South Africa, or just up country to the bush then definitely try and stay anywhere in the Sabie Sand. It’s a bit of a spoil, but completely worth it.

The highlight of the trip for me was watching a flock of arrow marked babblers attacking a boomslang in a tree (a boomslang is a snake – the name literally translates to tree snake). It is the most incredible thing I have ever seen in my life and I have spent a lot of time in the bush having grown up here.

After the heavenly days we spend relaxing and enjoying not being in contact with the outside world – cellphone coverage is notoriously sketchy and for that I was grateful – we headed home for wedding weekend madness.

On Friday we had the Kitchen Tea/Bridal Shower. It was a fun afternoon spend with the ladies, chatting and spending time with the bride. The Saturday was the big day. It was a lovely venue and was done up beautifully. The bride looked gorgeous and the party afterwards with friends was one for the books.

Then we had a family brunch the next morning before heading back to the city.

It was definitely a bit of a whirlwind towards the end!

I have a few photos here that my father in law took. I hope you enjoy them.

Boomslang and arrow marked babblers Lilac breasted roller Hyena and pup Baby leopard

Daily side notes:

Today marks four months to our expected due date! That third trimester is sneaking up faster and faster!

We have not done anything significant in terms of getting ready for this baby yet and its stressing me out. I’m terrified she’ll end up sleeping in a cardboard box! Is this nesting kicking in?

My endurance is not what it used to be, one big hectic weekend leaves me in recovery mode for days!

Leave a Reply

