Pregnancy update: week 22

I’m feeling a little emotionally fragile today.

Last week was my first week back at work after being on leave and last night I said goodbye to my little sister who is jetting off to Hong Kong to teach English.

So much activity and emotion packed into one week! I feel slightly hung over from it all. I’m a little tired and cranky, have a slight headache and have already eaten some of my colleague’s mini doughnuts. I have a feeling this is going to be a long week!

In baby news I don’t really have much to update you on, other than the Monkey is moving like crazy! She is getting so strong now. I feel her during the day while sitting at work, but she still seems to be most active in the mornings and evenings. I even see my stomach moving from the outside quite a bit now. It’s really nice to feel it so much.

She’s becoming more and more real now. I have always felt connected to her, but now it’s like she no longer an idea, but a real little person who will be here in about four months’ time! It kind of blows my mind.

We have a doctor’s appointment next week. It’s the big one – the anatomy scan. I’m really looking forward to seeing her again and seeing how much she’s grown!

How far along? 22 weeks

Baby is the size of a: Spaghetti Squash!

Total weight gain/measurements: We’re up to 92cm now! My sister was joking with me saying that she and her husband will pop the champagne when I hit a meter. It’s a little scary to think I’ll get that big – but only 6cm and I’ll be there.

Maternity clothes: My capsule wardrobe for spring is working well for me at the moment. I am so glad I found out about it and have a post coming up on what I’ve got in the wardrobe to see me through this season and this pregnancy. It really helps make dressing in the morning so much easier. I have a nice mix of maternity and non-maternity items.

Stretch marks: Nope, none that I can see. I’m pretty good about putting the cream on though.

Best moment this week: Getting to spend time with my family and soaking up some of the last moments with my baby sister. Also getting an awesome surprise package delivered to me at work. Read more about that here.

Miss anything? I’m feeling really good at the moment, although I would love to be able to sleep flat on my back for a little bit.

Movement: She’s going to be a dancer I can tell… so much wiggling at the moment!

Food cravings: I have been dying for peanut butter and banana. It’s sooooo good!

Anything making you queasy or sick? Nope 🙂

Gender: A girl!

Symptoms: The usual, but I’m happy and they’re not bothering me much at the moment. I have started to get mild swelling in my feet after a long day at work.

Belly button in or out? In, but getting really shallow.

Wedding rings on or off? On for now

Happy or moody most of the time: I’m very happy right now

Exercise: I managed to squeeze in yoga and strength training last week as well as a great walk around the neighbourhood.

Looking forward to: Going to the doctor. I swear pregnancy is the only time you will ever hear me say that!

 

Leave a Reply

