Prengancy Update: Week 17

Soooo, exciting news of the week: I finally felt the baby! Fo’ realz. I’m so freaking excited.

I first felt in on Friday afternoon when I was driving home from work. I was sitting in traffic for over an hour, singing along to the radio, when I felt these strange popping sensations low in my belly. Not a lot, but every now and then pop. I sat there thinking: “Was that the baby? Do I have gas? What was that?” But it stopped and I didn’t feel it again.

Until Sunday night! Hubby and I were lying in bed watching Masterchef when I felt the popping again. So that confirms it. Its definitely the baby! It made my whole week!

This week was pretty busy. Aside from feeling Monkey move I had a frantic week at work, I saw my mom and dad and sister briefly. They came to visit before my folks flew to Sweden for two weeks. Also Hubby went to a four day music festival – called Oppikoppi – and I was left to my own devices at home. Which was nice, but I got a little lonely towards the end. I’m really happy to have him home.

Then finally I rounded out the week with a great afternoon spent with a friend I haven’t seen in ages. We chatted and laughed and played with her son. It was great.

How far along? 17 weeks

Baby is the size of a: Navel Orange!

Total weight gain/measurements:

Maternity clothes: My belly has really popped and I’m wearing my maternity stuff more often. I just got a whole bunch of new tops, pants and a dress. But I’m also wearing some regular stuff too.

Stretch marks: Nope

Best moment this week: Having tea with my friend who I haven’t seen in ages.

Miss anything? My family, especially my sister who lives in Hong Kong. I wish I could see them more often.

Movement: At last! We have movement *dance dance of a happy mama*

Food cravings: I haven’t really craved anything this week and I’ve been eating really well. Exercise really helps me to control my appetite. It makes me want healthier things.

Anything making you queasy or sick? Nope 🙂

Gender: Waiting for the next scan to confirm!

Symptoms: I’ve been battling to get out of bed lately. So tiredness is still a factor, but other than that just the usual – back pain, short of breath, stuff nose etc. Some good things though: My hair and nails are fantastic and my skin I looking much better.

Belly button in or out? In

Wedding rings on or off? On

Happy or moody most of the time: I’m happy a lot, although I have my moments.

Exercise: I was good this week. I had an awesome strength workout, did some yoga and even got to the gym to spend some time on the treadmill. Success.

Looking forward to:  My doctor’s appointment on Thursday. I can’t wait to see the monkey again and maybe have gender confirmed!

 

One thought on “Prengancy Update: Week 17

Leave a Reply

