Home alone and secret single behaviour

One of my favourite episodes of Sex and the City is the one where Carrie talks about Secret Single Behaviour. You know the ones, the mask wearing, moustache waxing type that you don’t want your significant other to witness.

I loved it because it felt so real life to me. I mean there are things we all do that we would die if our husbands/boyfriends found out. Or maybe it’s just me…

This weekend my husband has gone to a four day long music festival. I love music and I would be keen to experience Oppikoppi, but it really isn’t my thing. It’s dusty, freezing cold, full of drunk and high people and the ablution facilities are less than satisfactory (Read downright gross with no hot water). Also, on case you hadn’t picked up on it, you’re camping. Not really a Kierryn friendly place, especially a pregnant Kierryn.

So I helped him pack the car and then cheerily waved him off. He will have a great time and so will I. To be honest, it’s a relief to have the house to myself for a short while. Does that sound terrible? Being happy my husband has gone off for the weekend so I get some space?

Maybe it does, but let’s be honest here, we all need a little breathing room every now and again. I love him to bits and will miss him terribly, but that will make it even more awesome when he comes home. It brings to mind the lyrics of a Pink song. I believe it goes: “Go away, give me a chance to miss you.”

I’m looking forward to a weekend of knitting, tv watching, face masking, long hot baths and having the whole bed to myself. Who knows, it may be the last time fore for Baby gets here and I plan to enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

