Pregnancy update: Week 16

You know what’s not fun when you’re pregnant? Getting sick!

Not only do you feel grouchy and generally miserable but there’s nothing you can take to get any relief. This week I was laid down by a cold and it was really unpleasant. Its taken a lot to fight it off and I’m still not 100% but I am feeling better in increments and for that I’m grateful! I’m going to take it easy until I feel myself again.

Other than that and a pretty hectic week at work the week was uneventful.

I was hoping to feel the baby again, but it was not to be. In fact now I’m not sure it was even the baby I felt that one time. I’m not a very patient person and this kills me.

I am getting bigger and this makes me feel better. In the first trimester I would comfort myself by saying that at least with the nausea I knew the baby was still in there. I know this sounds weird, but now that I don’t feel sick and barely look pregnant I find myself having these weird paranoid moments where I don’t know if everything is ok in there. I really wish there was a window that you could peek through just to check.

I’m really looking forward for the next doctor’s appointment (which is next week EEK!) so I can see everything is going well.

How far along? 16 weeks

Baby is the size of a: Avocado!

Total weight gain/measurements: No measurements this week, but I’m definitely bigger. Really showing now

Maternity clothes: Mostly wearing my normal clothes, some in bigger sizes with a bit of maternity thrown in. I went through my cupboard last night and removed the stuff that doesn’t fit anymore. So we’re getting a bit limited now

Stretch marks: Nope

Best moment this week: This week was tough but very rewarding a work. It feels awesome to achieve a month-long goal.

Miss anything? Beer and biltong

Movement: Still waiting not so patiently for this little monkey to make its presence known.

Food cravings: My cravings weren’t so bad last week, but when I do crave its normally junk, which is not ideal.

Anything making you queasy or sick? Nope 🙂

Gender: We think we know. Waiting for the next scan to confirm!

Symptoms: I was sick this week, which was not fun. Its made me extra tired and crampy and just not fun to be around. I seem to be coming out of it now

Belly button in or out? In

Wedding rings on or off? On

Happy or moody most of the time: Moody last week, but I blame the sickness

Exercise: I was not a good girl this week. But again I was sick. Hope to get back to the gym this week.

Looking forward to:  My next doctor’s appointment. I can’t wait to see the monkey again and hopefully having gender confirmed!

2 thoughts on “Pregnancy update: Week 16

  1. millysell says:

    I remember the wait around this time between scans / midwife appointments being agonising, because they’re the things that confirm everything’s ok! But it won’t be long before more noticeable movements start and then you’ll have a daily reminder. Hang in there and hope you feel better.

  2. justaudrey says:

    The wait between appointments is the WORST! My poor husband had to deal with my constant paranoia during the 1st and early 2nd trimester. Hang in there! Pretty soon you’ll feel his/her little kicks nonstop. 🙂

Leave a Reply

