Pregnancy Update: Week 9

Another week down and another week to go until our scan. When we were told we had to wait six weeks for more information on how our baby was doing I felt it was so long to go. Now we’re halfway there and its getting closer.

I am both excited and apprehensive. I am looking forward to seeing the baby and I have fingers crossed we will get good news, but at the same time I am terrified all won’t be right and this is an outcome I don’t even want to contemplate.

It was a long weekend here in South Africa last week, and hubby and I got to head out of the city for a few days. It was just what we needed. We got to enjoy the amazing Mpumalanga sunshine (such a change from frigid Joburg.) we saw some awesome animals in the Kruger Park. It was good for the soul. 

How far along? 9 weeks

Baby is the size of a: Grape!

Total weight gain/measurements: I’m up by two kilos, but I was much lighter than I normally am when I found out I was pregnant. This is my usual pre-pregnancy (58kg) weight now, so I’m not concerned

Maternity clothes: I bought a pair of maternity leggings and they are life changing. Still a bit big for me, they are one of the few items in my cupboard that don’t make be feel like I’ve been stuffed into them. I’m sure I’ll be fitting into them soon

Stretch marks: No not yet

Best moment this week: Sitting and relaxing on the deck enjoying the sunshine while the river flows by. Also seeing a leopard!

Miss anything? Biltong. I miss biltong *sigh* (for those not from South Africa this is a South African preserved meat, usually beef, but game is also delicious – its similar to jerky but way more amazing)

Movement: Nothing yet

Food cravings: Still chicken mayo. If I think about it I want to eat it

Anything making you queasy or sick? Red meat and bacon – the joke was the baby was a vegan, but now the baby doesn’t want veggies either

Gender: Nothing yet

Symptoms: My back kills me by the end of the day. Its really painful and nothing I do gives me relief. My boobs are feeling better, still sore and very firm, but nor quite as tender. I’m also still really tired.

Belly button in or out? In

Wedding rings on or off? On and feeling a little loose

Happy or moody most of the time: I am pretty moody and I think it’s because I’m so tired. It seems to make everything worse.

Looking forward to:  Seeing our friends this weekend, and pay day 😉

 

One thought on “Pregnancy Update: Week 9

  1. millysell says:

    Congratulations on your pregnancy! The countdown to the first scan is so agonizingly slow … I definitely remember counting the days. But it’s so wonderful when it finally arrives …
    Good luck, health & happiness for your pregnancy 🙂

Leave a Reply

