Pregnancy update: week 8

Belgh! I am getting over this queasy, hungover feeling really quickly. I am so ready for the first trimester to be over and to get back to feeling semi-human again. If I could go through a couple of days without feeling sick to my stomach I will be very happy.

That said I’m still really lucky because I haven’t actually thrown up yet, I can still eat most things, but I feel ill within minutes again. The only thing that makes me feel remotely full and can ward off the nausea for a while is carbs. I can’t even face veggies at the moment. At dinner the other night I was happily eating along when I put a baby marrow in my mouth I wanted to puke. I couldn’t eat the rest of my food.

I’m also still really tired. I sleep and sleep and all I want is more sleep. Weekend activities are almost completely beyond me. If I’m not in bed by 10pm I’m a complete emotional mess.

Speaking of emotions they seem to be way nearer to the surface than usual. Last week was a hard week, but I feel completely wrung out. Still everyday we get through and each day closer to our next scan feels like a small victory and I’m taking as many of those as I can get!

 

How far along? 8 weeks

Baby is the size of a: Raspberry

Total weight gain/measurements: I didn’t weigh myself last week, there was just too much going on.

Maternity clothes: Nope not yet, but I am down to just three pairs of jeans that still fit and some leggings and joggers. Not ideal when Joburg is in the middle of winter and there is cold front after cold front coming our way.

Stretch marks: No not yet

Best moment this week: Celebrating my sister’s birthday with her and getting to spend time on the couch with my hubby and cats

Miss anything? Not feeling sick all the time and being able to eat properly

Movement: Nothing yet

Food cravings: I have wanted a toasted chicken mayo for days now. I think I may just cause someone bodily harm if I don’t get soon

Anything making you queasy or sick? Red meat and bacon – the joke was the baby was a vegan, but now the baby doesn’t want veggies either L

Gender: Nothing yet

Symptoms: Sore boobs, extreme fatigue, achy back, nausea, general moodiness and very emotional

Belly button in or out? In

Wedding rings on or off? On

Happy or moody most of the time: I am pretty moody and I think it’s because I’m so tired. It seems to make everything worse.

Looking forward to:  Having the day off on Wednesday. I feel like I need it!

 

Leave a Reply

